Kurt Budke Selected For Hall of Fame

Former Oklahoma State head coach Kurt Budke was announced as one of six members of the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame's Class of 2015 it was announced today on ESPN during the WNBA All-Star Game.

The six members of the Class of 2015 are: Janeth Arcain (player), Budke (coach, posthumously), Gail Goestenkors (coach), Janet Harris (player), Lisa Leslie (player), and Brad Smith (coach). The 2015 class will be the Hall's 17th group of inductees.

Prior to his arrival in Stillwater, Budke was twice named the National Junior College Athletic Association Coach of the Year, receiving the honor in 1995 and 1998. He guided Trinity Valley (Texas) Community College to four national titles, leading the Lady Cardinals to championships in 1994, 1996, 1997 and 1999. He compiled a junior college record of 273-31 (.898), the highest in NJCAA history, and became the youngest coach to ever be inducted into the NJCAA Hall of Fame.

Budke directed the Louisiana Tech program from 2002-2005, compiling an 80-16 record and earning three consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances.

The Salina, Kan., native took over the Cowgirl program in 2005-06. His second season resulted in a 20-win campaign, the largest turnaround in the nation and the program's first NCAA Tournament berth in 11 seasons. In 2007-08, his squad matched the school record with 27 wins and reached the NCAA Sweet 16 for the second time in program history.

The Cowgirls won 24 games during the 2009-2010 campaign and reached the second round of the NCAA Tournament. Budke led OSU to WNIT berths in 2009 and 2011.

He compiled a record of 112-83 during his time in Stillwater and coached the program's first-ever WNBA draft pick in Andrea Riley.

Budke passed away on Nov. 17, 2011 in a plane crash while on a recruiting trip in Arkansas.

He has previously been inducted into the Barton Community College Sports Hall of Fame, Kansas Sports Hall of Fame, Trinity Valley Community College Cardinal Hall of Fame. Additionally, the floor inside the Bicentennial Center, home of the NJCAA Division I Women's Basketball National Championship, in his hometown is named in his honor.

The Women's Basketball Hall of Fame's Board of Directors serves as the selection committee in determining which individuals will be inducted each year and which groups will be honored as "Trailblazers of the Game". Voting is based on various factors, which include moral character, integrity, sportsmanship, record of performance, ability, national or international recognition, and contributions to the game of women's basketball.

In order to be considered for selection for induction, an individual must meet the following prerequisites. A player must be retired from the highest level of play for at least five years, a coach must have coached the women's game at least 20 years, a referee must have officiated the women's game at least 10 years and a contributor must have significantly impacted the game of women's basketball.

For information regarding the Women's Basketball Hall of Fame and the 2015 Induction Ceremony please visit www.wbhof.com.

GoPokes Top Stories