Media Selects Preseason All-Big 12 Team

The Media Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team was released today. It is something they do every summer leading up to the Big 12 Media Days, which will be next Monday and Tuesday in Dallas. It is the media that has signed up to attend that event that vote on the team, so I voted along with all the other expected broadcasters, writers, and bloggers heading to Dallas.

Instead of just presenting the team here on, I will post the team that the consensus voted on and then any positions or honors that I differed with and include an explanation of what I was thinking and what I thought was the media reasoning for disagreeing with me.

2015 Preseason Media All-Big 12 Football Team

Offensive Player of the Year: Trevone Boykin, QB, TCU

Defensive Player of the Year: Shawn Oakman, DE, Baylor (I voted for Emmanuel Ogbah, DE, Oklahoma State. Let's face it, both are deserving and I'm not surprised the media had more votes for Oakman riding the wave of Baylor success.)

Newcomer of the Year: Chris Carson, RB, Oklahoma State (Surprise, I voted for Dede Westbrook, WR, OU. I know Westbrook is really good and will have a huge impact in the OU offense, but the media may have this right in that Carson will get lots of opportunity as he will play even if Rennie Childs plays as we

GoPokes Top Stories