Pat Kinnison

Oklahoma State's Mike Gundy On Dodd Watch List

Oklahoma State head coach Mike Gundy has been selected as one of the coaches for the Bobby Dodd Watch List

It is exactly mid-season for the 6-0 Oklahoma State Cowboys, who are also 3-0 in the Big 12 Conference and share the top spot in the league with the TCU Horned Frogs. This is also the time some of the college football awards are coming out with expanded or scaled down watch lists. One that is fairly tight is the Bobby Dodd Award for the outstanding coach in college football and Mike Gundy made the list.

Officials from the Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year Foundation and Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl today released the mid-season watch list for the 2015 Dodd Trophy. The list includes 20 of the nation’s top college football coaches representing all Power 5 conferences, the Mountain West Conference and Notre Dame, and the list includes Gundy. 

Gundy is 90-44 in his 11th season as the head coach at his alma mater where he was also a record-setting quarterback and has served as a position coach and offensive coordinator. In his time as the head coach Gundy has led Oklahoma State to 10 straight bowls games, a Big 12 Championship in 2011, a BCS bowl in in the Fiesta Bowl in 2011, and he was also named the Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year and Paul "Bear" Bryant Coach of the Year that season. His teams have won eight or more games in a season six times in his tenure and are well on the way to making that seven this season. 

Oklahoma State is off this week but will host Kansas for Homecoming in Stillwater at 2:30 p.m. on Saturday, Oct. 24.

Joining Gundy on the Dodd watch list are fellow Big 12 coaches Art Briles of Baylor, Gary Patterson of TCU, and Bob Stoops of Oklahoma. Other coaches on the list include Mark Dantonio of Michigan State, a former graduate assistant under Gundy in Pat Fitzgerald of Northwestern, Brian Kelly of Notre Dame, Nick Saban of Alabama, former OSU head coach Les Miles of LSU, and Stanford head coach David Shaw.

A voting panel of previous winners, plus a committee of national media, a member of the Dodd family, and two members of the College Football Hall of Fame will determine the 2015 winner of the award that will be presented in Atlanta during the week of the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl.

GoPokes Top Stories