USA Today Sports

Jordan Sterns On Nagurski Award Watch List

Oklahoma State senior Jordan Sterns is one of 88 players selected for the 2016 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List.

Desmond King of Iowa, Shawun Lurry of Northern Illinois and Myles Garrett of Texas A&M headline the 2016 Bronko Nagurski Trophy Watch List that includes 88 defensive standouts from all 10 Division I FBS conferences. King, Lurry and Garrett are the returning first-team Football Writers Association of America All-Americans.

Oklahoma State's Jordan Sterns headlines that same list for Cowboy football fans as Sterns returns for his senior season following an All-Big 12 season in 2015.

Sterns finished last season with 108 total tackles, 72 of those unassisted. He also had two interceptions and a fumble forced and a fumble recovered. Sterns is an unquestioned leader on the football team and a strong prospect to continue his football career in the NFL. 

The watch list also includes a pair of returning second-team FWAA All-Americans Eddie Jackson from Alabama and Jourdan Lewis from Michigan.

The Southeastern Conference led all conferences with 27 players, followed by the Big Ten (13), Pac-12 (13), ACC (11), Big 12 (10), Mid-American (4), Mountain West (3), American Athletic (2), Conference USA (2), Sun Belt (1) and Independents (2). Alabama and LSU each had five players on the list, which included 31 backs, 29 linebackers, 21 ends and seven tackles.

Players may be added or removed from the watch list during the course of the season. Once again, the FWAA will announce a National Defensive Player of the Week from early September through mid November. If not already on the watch list, the honored player will be added at that time. The FWAA and the Charlotte Touchdown Club will announce five finalists for the 2016 Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Thurs., Nov. 17.

The Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner will be chosen from those five finalists who are part of the 2016 FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the association's entire membership, selects a 26-man All-America Team and eventually the Nagurski Trophy finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner, the best defensive player in college football.

The annual Bronko Nagurski Trophy Banquet, presented by ACN, will be held on Mon., Dec. 5 at the Westin Hotel in Charlotte. In addition to the 2016 Bronko Nagurski Trophy winner's announcement, the banquet will also celebrate the recipient of the Bronko Nagurski Legends Award, sponsored by the CTC and Florida East Coast Railway. Navy's Chet Moeller, a member of the FWAA's 1975 All-America Team and a College Football Hall of Famer, will be honored. Duke head coach David Cutcliffe will be the keynote speaker at the banquet.


Montravius Adams, Auburn, DT

Jamal Adams, LSU, DB

Jonathan Allen, Alabama, DE

Chidobe Awuzie, Colorado, DB

Budda Baker, Washington, DB

Dante Barnett, Kansas State, DB

Derek Barnett, Tennessee, DE

Kendell Beckwith, LSU, LB

Vince Biegel, Wisconsin, LB

Quin Blanding, Virginia, DB

Ben Boulware, Clemson, LB

Richie Brown, Mississippi State, LB

Riley Bullough, Michigan State, LB

Josh Carraway, TCU, DE

Lorenzo Carter, Georgia, LB

Tony Conner, Ole Miss, DB

Zach Cunningham, Vanderbilt, LB

Jarrad Davis, Florida, LB

Hunter Dimick, Utah, DE

Ken Ekanem, Virginia Tech, DE

Devonte Fields, Louisville, DE

Salamo Fiso, Arizona State, LB

Kylie Fitts, Utah, DE

Reuben Foster, Alabama, LB

Myles Garrett, Texas A&M, DE

Davon Godchaux, LSU, DT

Daeshon Hall, Texas A&M, DE

Charles Harris, Missouri, DE

Josh Harvey-Clemons, Louisville, DB

Marquis Haynes, Ole Miss, DE

Treyvon Hester, Toledo, DT

Travin Howard, TCU, LB

Shane Huber, Massachusetts, LB

Marlon Humphrey, Alabama, DB

Adoreé Jackson, USC, DB

Eddie Jackson, Alabama

Derwin James, Florida State, DB

Malik Jefferson, Texas, LB

Josey Jewell, Iowa, LB

Sidney Jones, Washington, DB

Andrew King, Army, LB

Desmond King, Iowa, DB

Micah Kiser, Virginia, LB

Carl Lawson, Auburn, DE

Elijah Lee, Kansas State, LB

Jourdan Lewis, Michigan, DB

Tyquan Lewis, Ohio State, DE

William Likely, Maryland, DB

Lowell Lotulelei, Utah, DT

Shawun Lurry, Northern Illinois, DB

Jamal Marcus, Akron, DE

Marcus Maye, Florida, DB

Malik McDowell, Michigan State, DT

Raekwon McMillan, Ohio State

Fabian Moreau, UCLA, DB

Calvin Munson, San Diego State, LB

Lewis Neal, LSU, DE

Hardy Nickerson, Illinois, LB

Steven Parker, Oklahoma, DB

Jabrill Peppers, Michigan, LB

Jalen Reeves-Maybin, Tennessee, LB

TJ Ricks, Old Dominion, LB

Isaac Rochell, Notre Dame, DE

Ja'Von Rolland-Jones, Arkansas State, DE

Duke Shelley, Kansas State, DB

Cameron Smith, USC, LB

Weston Steelhammer, Air Force, DB

Jordan Sterns, Oklahoma State, DB

Jamar Summers, UConn, DB

Cameron Sutton, Tennessee, DB

Jalen Tabor, Florida, DB

Cordrea Tankersley, Clemson, DB

Steven Taylor, Houston, LB

Ahmad Thomas, Oklahoma, DB

Tanner Vallejo, Boise State, LB

Eddie Vanderdoes, UCLA, DT

Azeem Victor, Washington, LB

Anthony Walker Jr., Northwestern, LB

Charles Walker, Oklahoma, DE

DeMarcus Walker, Florida State, DE

Carlos Watkins, Clemson, DT

Tre'Davious White, LSU, DB

Jordan Whitehead, Pittsburgh, DB

Marcus Williams, Utah, DB

Tim Williams, Alabama, LB

Deatrich Wise Jr., Arkansas, DE

Xavier Woods, Louisiana Tech, DB

Chris Wormley, Michigan, DE

By conference: SEC 27, Big Ten 13, Pac-12 13, ACC 11, Big 12 10, Mid-American 4, Mountain West 3, American Athletic 2, Conference USA 2, Independents 2, Sun Belt 1.

By position: Tackles 7, Ends 21, Linebackers 29, Backs 31.

The FWAA has chosen a National Defensive Player of the Year since 1993. In 1995, the FWAA named the award in honor of the legendary two-way player from the University of Minnesota. Nagurski dominated college football then became a star for professional football's Chicago Bears in the 1930s. Bronislaw “Bronko” Nagurski is a charter member of both the College Football and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

GoPokes Top Stories