USA Today Sports

Vincent Taylor Named To Outland Watch List

Defensive tackle Vincent Taylor of Oklahoma State is one of 70 standout interior linemen to be selected for the 2016 Outland Trophy Watch List.

The Football Writers Association of America announced its 2016 Outland Trophy Watch List on Friday, with 70 standout interior linemen from all 10 FBS conferences represented. On the defensive side one of the 17 defensive tackles selected for the watch list is Oklahoma State junior Vincent Taylor.

The San Antonio Madison High School product was outstanding last season as he finished with 48 tackles, a high number for an interior defensive lineman, 30 tackles unassisted, 8.5 tackles for loss, and 5.0 sacks. He also recovered a fumble and blocked a kick. 

Taylor had a career-high nine tackles in the overtime win at West Virginia and he was a primary reason for the Cowboys key stops in the victory. He developed during the season, although he was a sophomore into a primary team leader. 

The SEC (12) led all conferences, followed by the Big Ten (11), ACC (10), Pac-12 (10), Big 12 (6), American Athletic (4), Conference USA (4), Independents (4), Mountain West (4), Mid-American (3) and Sun Belt (2).

The list includes 22 offensive tackles, 20 offensive guards, 17 defensive tackles and 11 centers. It can be trimmed or enlarged during the regular season as players emerge or drop out of play.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are a part of the annual FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects a 26-man first team and eventually the three Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.


Montravius Adams, Auburn, DT

Brian Allen, Michigan State, C

Zach Banner, USC, OT

Adam Bisnowaty, Pittsburgh, OT

Chris Borrayo, California, G

J.T. Boyd East Carolina, C

Orlando Brown, Oklahoma, OT

Mason Cole, Michigan, C

Parker Collins, Appalachian State, G

Austin Corbett, Nevada, OT

Tyrell Crosby, Oregon, OT

Tyrone Crowder, Clemson, G

Dion Dawkins, Temple, OT

J.J. Dielman, Utah, OT

Pat Elflein, Ohio State, G

Dan Feeney, Indiana, G

Kyle Fuller, Baylor, C

Antonio Garcia, Troy, OT

Will Geary, Kansas State, DT

Avery Gennesy, Texas A&M, OT

Davon Godchaux, LSU, DT

Jay Guillermo, Clemson, C

Darius Hamilton, Rutgers, DT

Jon Heck, North Carolina, OT

Treyvon Hester, Toledo, DT

Daniel Isidora, Miami, G

Martez Ivey, Florida, G

Roderick Johnson, Florida State, OT

Dorian Johnson, Pittsburgh, G

Jaleel Johnson, Iowa, DT

Jarron Jones, Notre Dame, DT

Alex Kozan, Auburn, G

Forrest Lamp, Western Kentucky, OT

Ului Lapuaho, BYU, G

Nick Linder, Miami, C

Lowell Lotulelei, Utah, DT

Erik Magnuson, Michigan, OT

Damien Mama, USC, G

Conor McDermott, UCLA, OT

Malik McDowell, Michigan State, DT

Mike McGlinchey, Notre Dame, OT

Taylor Moton, Western Michigan, OT

Storm Norton, Toledo, OT

Larry Ogunjobi, Charlotte, DT

Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia, C

Ethan Pocic, LSU, C

Billy Price, Ohio State, G

Greg Pyke, Georgia, G

Jake Replogle, Purdue, DT

Cam Robinson, Alabama, OT

Chase Roullier, Wyoming, G

Nico Siragusa, San Diego State, G

Dan Skipper, Arkansas, OT

Tashon Smallwood, Arizona State, DT

Tanzel Smart, Tulane, DT

Braden Smith, Auburn, G

Chris Taylor, Tulane, G

Vincent Taylor, Oklahoma State, DT

Wyatt Teller, Virginia Tech, G

Cameron Tom, Southern Miss, C

Jon Toth, Kentucky, C

Travis Tuiloma, BYU, DT

Clint Van Horn, Marshall, OT

Eddie Vanderdoes, UCLA, DT

Dan Voltz, Wisconsin, C

Carlos Watkins, Clemson, DT

Chad Wheeler, USC, OT

Dylan Wiesman, Tennessee, G

Connor Williams, Texas, OT

Fred Zerblis, Colorado State, G

By conference: SEC 12, Big Ten 11, ACC 10, Pac-12 10, Big 12 6, American Athletic 4, Conference USA 4, Independents 4, Mountain West 4, Mid-American 3, Sun Belt 2.

By position: Offensive Tackles 22, Offensive Guards 20, Centers 11, Defensive Tackles 17.

Tackles, guards and centers are eligible for consideration; Candidates may be added or removed during the season

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Thurs., Nov. 17. Five days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 71st Outland Trophy – named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century – will be announced on live on ESPN on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thurs., Dec. 8. For the second straight year, the show will air from the National Football Foundation’s College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 11, 2017, in Omaha, Neb. This year, Oklahoma’s Greg Roberts, the 1978 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award. In addition, former Oklahoma coach Barry Switzer, will receive the Tom Osborne Legacy Award at the same banquet.

GoPokes Top Stories