USA Today Sports

Sinor Named To Ray Guy Award Semifinal List

Oklahoma State punter Zach Sinor is a semifinalist for the Ray Guy Award given annually to the nation's best punter.

Oklahoma State punter Zach Sinor has made the prestigious semifinal list for this year's Ray Guy Award as that list was released on Friday.

Sinor has an average of 43.0 yards per punt this season. However, much more impressive than his average is his Big 12-leading 24 punts that have been downed inside the opponents' 20-yard line this season. When he needs to boom it Sinor can do that as he has flipped the field nearly every time he has been called upon and he has 11 punts this season of 50 yards or more. 

The semifinalists were chosen from a field of 66 candidates for the award. Besides Sinor, Texas' Michael Dickson is on the list from the Big 12. Returning semifinalists this year are Hayden Hunt, Colorado State University, Johnny Townsend, University of Florida, and Cameron Johnston, Ohio State University.

The candidates were evaluated by the Ray Guy Award committee on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on number of punts, gross average, net average, percent inside the 20 and percent not returned. A national voting body of Football Bowling Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three award finalists, who will be announced on November 22. Voters will then vote again to decide the winner who will be announced live December 8 at the The Home Depot College Football Awards in Atlanta, Georgia.

2016 Ray Guy Award Semifinalists

Austin Barnes (Jr.), Eastern Michigan University

Nicholas Conte (Sr.), University of Virginia

Steven Coutts (So.), University of Louisiana at Lafayette

Joseph Davidson (Jr.), Bowling Green State University

Michael Dickson (So.), University of Texas

Hayden Hunt (Sr.), Colorado State University

Cameron Johnston (Sr.), Ohio State University

Zach Sinor (So.), Oklahoma State University

Johnny Townsend (Jr.), University of Florida

Mitch Wishnowsky (So.), University of Utah

GoPokes Top Stories