Trio Of Cowboys Named First Team All-Big 12

Eight Oklahoma State players received All-Big 12 honors as selected by the Associated Press, including first-team selections Jordan Sterns, Vincent Taylor and James Washington.

Receiver James Washington, defensive tackle Vincent Taylor and safety Jordan Sterns were first-team selections to the Associated Press All-Big 12 team, and running back Justice Hill was the A.P.’s choice as Big 12 Newcomer of the year, it was announced today. 

Additionally, offensive lineman Victor Salako, Cowboy Back Blake Jarwin, linebacker Devante Averette, kicker Ben Grogan and punter Zach Sinor were all named to the second team.

Oklahoma State’s eight All-Big 12 selections represent the second-highest total of any school in the league, only trailing Oklahoma’s 10.

Sign up for GoPokes!
Why join?

Washington is one of just five Oklahoma State players in history with multiple 1,000-yard receiving seasons, joining Justin Blackmon, Rashaun Woods, Hart Lee Dykes and Adarius Bowman. His 19.4 career yards per reception leads all active Power Five receivers with a minimum of 2,000 career receiving yards and his 25 career receiving TDs ties Baylor’s KD Cannon for the most among all active Big 12 players.

Taylor is the FBS leader with four blocked kicks this season. His 6.0 sacks are the most among interior linemen in the Big 12 and his 6.0 sacks, 49 yards from sacks and 12.0 TFL this year are the most for an OSU interior D-Lineman during the Mike Gundy era (2005-present).

Sterns’ 96 tackles this year are the most of any Big 12 defensive back. His 320 career tackles tie for seventh in school history and he needs just four tackles to post the third 100-tackle season of his career. He had 103 tackles in 2014 and 108 in 2015.

The Big 12 Newcomer of the Year, Hill averaged 105.9 rushing yards per game in Big 12 play. His 1,042 rushing yards are the most ever for an Oklahoma State freshman and are the sixth-most for any freshman in Big 12 history. He has a realistic chance to be the FBS freshman rushing leader with a good performance in the Valero Alamo Bowl. He ranks third among all FBS freshmen with 1,042 rushing yards, trailing only Missouri's Damarea Crockett (1,062 yards) and Kentucky's Benny Snell (1,057 yards).

The Cowboys play No. 11 Colorado in the Valero Alamo Bowl on Dec. 29.

Here is a complete list of the 1st and 2nd team All-Big 12 team and honors.



Quarterback — Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma, 6-1, 210, Jr., Austin, Texas.

Running backs — u-D’Onta Foreman, Texas, 6-1, 249, Jr., Texas City, Texas; Joe Mixon, Oklahoma, 6-1, 226, So., Oakley, California.

Tackles — Connor Williams, Texas, 6-6, 288, So., Coppell, Texas; Orlando Brown, Oklahoma, 6-8, 340, So., Duluth, Georgia.

Guards — Terrale Johnson, Kansas State, 6-1, 312, Sr., Manhattan, Kansas; Kyle Bosch, West Virginia, 6-5, 310, Jr., St. Charles, Illinois.

Center — Tyler Orlosky, West Virginia, 6-4, 296, Sr., Cleveland.

Receivers — u-Dede Westbrook, Oklahoma, 6-0, 175, Sr., Cameron, Texas; James Washington, Oklahoma State, 6-0, 205, Jr., Stamford, Texas.

Tight end — Mark Andrews, Oklahoma, 6-5, 250, So., Scottsdale, Arizona.

All-purpose player — Shelton Gibson, West Virginia, 5-11, 195, Jr., Cleveland.

Kicker — Cole Netten, Iowa State, 6-1, 210, Sr., Ankeny, Iowa.


Ends — u-Jordan Willis, Kansas State, 6-5, 258, Sr., Kansas City; Dorance Armstrong, Kansas, 6-5, 246, So., Houston.

Tackles — Vincent Taylor, Oklahoma State, 6-3, 310, Jr., San Antonio; Will Geary, Kansas State, 6-0, 298, Jr., Topeka, Kansas.

Linebackers — Travin Howard, TCU, 6-1, 210, Jr., Longview, Texas; Elijah Lee, Kansas State, 6-3, 228, Jr., Blue Springs, Missouri; Jordan Evans, Oklahoma, 6-2, 235, Sr., Norman, Oklahoma.

Cornerbacks — u-Rasul Douglas, West Virginia, 6-2, 208, Sr., East Orange, New Jersey; Jordan Thomas, Oklahoma, 6-0, 192, Jr., Klein, Texas.

Safeties — Jordan Sterns, Oklahoma State, 6-0, 200, Sr., Cibolo, Texas; Orion Stewart, Baylor, 6-2, 205, Sr., Waco, Texas.

Punter — Michael Dickson, Texas, 6-2, 209, So., Sydney, Australia.



Quarterback — Patrick Mahomes, Texas Tech, 6-3, 230, Jr., Whitehouse, Texas.

Running backs — Samaje Perine, Oklahoma, 5-10, 235, Jr., Pflugerville, Texas; Justin Crawford, West Virginia, 6-1, 190, Jr., Columbus, Georgia.

Tackles — Dalton Risner, Kansas State; 6-5, 300, So., Wiggins, Colorado; Victor Salako, Oklahoma State, 6-6, 335, Sr., Huntsville, Alabama.

Guards — Ben Powers, Oklahoma, 6-4, 315, So., Wichita, Kansas; Adam Pankey, West Virginia, 6-5, 316, Sr., Hamilton, Ohio.

Center —Kyle Fuller, Baylor, 6-5, 315, Sr., Wylie, Texas.

Receivers — Jonathan Giles, Texas Tech, 5-11, 185, So., Missouri City, Texas; KD Cannon, Baylor, 6-0, 180, Jr., Mount Pleasant, Texas.

Tight end — Blake Jarwin, Oklahoma State, 6-5, 248, Sr., Tuttle, Oklahoma.

All-purpose player — Joe Mixon, 6-1, 226, So., Oakley, California.

Kicker — Ben Grogan, Oklahoma St., 6-1, 190, Sr., Arlington, Texas.


Ends — Josh Carraway, TCU, 6-4, 250, Sr., Flower Mound, Texas; Breckyn Hager, Texas, 6-3, 227, So., Austin, Texas.

Tackles — Daniel Wise, Kansas, 6-3, 285, So., Lewisville, Texas; Aaron Curry, TCU, 6-2, 270, Sr., Keller, Texas.

Linebackers — Ogbonnia Okoronkwo, Oklahoma, 6-2, 245, Jr., Houston; Devante Averette, Oklahoma St., 6-11, 230, Sr., Detroit; Malik Jefferson, Texas, 6-3, 238, So., Mesquite, Texas.

Cornerbacks — Ranthony Texada, TCU, 5-10, 170, Jr., Frisco, Texas; D.J. Reed, Kansas State, 5-9, 188, So., Bakersfield, California.

Safeties — Denzel Johnson, TCU, 6-2, 210, Sr., Gainesville, Texas; Fish Smithson, Kansas, 5-11, 190, Sr., Baltimore.

Punter — Zach Sinor, Oklahoma State, 5-10, 215, So., Castroville, Texas.

Coach of the year — Bob Stoops, Oklahoma.

Offensive player of the year — Dede Westbrook, WR, Sr., Oklahoma.

Defensive player of the year — Jordan Willis, DE, Sr., Kansas State.

Newcomer of the year — Justice Hill, RB, Fr., Oklahoma State.

GoPokes Top Stories