Cowboys Capture 32nd Title in School History

ST. LOUIS, Mo.- ? Seven All-Americans and a national champion propeled Oklahoma State?s wrestling team to winning its 32nd overall NCAA title. <BR><BR> The Cowboys scored 123.5 points, 41.5 points ahead of runner-up Iowa (82 points). Lehigh and Ohio State each recorded 77.5 points for a tied for third, while Nebraska rounded out the top five with 73.5 points.

Chris Pendleton captured the team?s lone individual title with his 11-4 decision over Ben Askren of Missouri. Pendleton struck first scoring off a low single, and then put Askren on his back for two. After an Askren escape, Pendleton then recorded another takedown to take a 6-1 lead heading into the second period.

The Lemoore, Calif., native recorded the only points in the second with an escape, but extended his lead with a takedown in the third period. Askren then reversed Pendleton to cut his lead, but couldn?t hang on as Pendleton went on to win his first national title.

Zack Esposito notched a second-place finish after dropping a 9-3 decision to Harvard?s Jesse Jantzen. Esposito fell behind early after Jantzen notched a takedown and a trio of back points. He could never get going as Jantzen built up loads of riding time and took any offense out of Esposito.

Tyrone Lewis dropped a tough 5-2 decision to Lehigh?s Troy Letters. Letters recorded a takedown and a pair of back points and that is all the he needed as he held off a fury of attempts by Lewis.

In the consolation semifinals, Johnny Thompson battled Travis Lee in a high scoring affair. Lee struck first with a takedown but Thompson then scored an escape. Thompson tied the score with an escape to open the second, and then pulled out the ?snake? to record a trio of back points and a takedown.

The Oklahoma City, Okla., native took a 7-3 lead into the third period only to see Lee cut the lead to one with an escape and takedown. After Lee cut Thompson, a flury began and the Cowboy came out on top with a takedown. But Lee quickly scored a reversal to make the score 10-8. But that is as close as he would come as Thompson held on to record the victory. With the win, he advanced to the third-place match.

After advancing to the third-place match, Thompson scored a pair of takedowns en route to a 6-3 decision over Cal Poly?s Darrell Vasquez. With the win, Thompson ended his career at OSU as a four-time All-American, placing second, first, first and third.

Jake Rosholt advanced to the third-place match with his 5-3 win over Illinois? Bryan Glynn. Rosholt scored a pair of takedowns in the first period, and that was all that he needed as he went on to earn the victory. In his third-place match, Rosholt scored a pair of takedowns in the first period and held off a fighting Paul Bradley (Iowa) to seal the victory, 6-5.

Johny Hendricks lost a close battle to Illinois? Alex Tirapelle, 4-1. Tirapelle recorded the only takedown of the match early in the first period and then built up riding time to secure the riding time point. Hendricks dropped down to the fifth-place match where he faced Iowa State?s Travis Paulson.

In that match, Hendricks scored a pair of takedowns in the first period to take a 4-2 lead heading into the second period. Paulson was riding Hendricks for over a minute before Hendricks shook him off, cradled him and then pinned him. In his first year in the starting lineup, and as a redshirt freshman, Hendricks became an All-American.

Will Gruenwald ended his career as an All-American and placed seventh this year. In his match against Scott Coleman of Iowa State, he fell behind early 2-1 but came back in the second period, and scored an escape and a takedown to capture the lead.

The Skiatook, Okla., native rode Coleman for well over a minute in the third period to seal the victory with the riding time point.

OSU ended the season as NCAA Champions, Big 12 Champions and the NWCA/Cliff Keen National Duals Team Champions. The team crowned seven All-Americans and an individual national champion.

Results OSU 123.5 Iowa 82 Ohio St. 77.5 Lehigh 77.5 Nebraska 73.5

Finals 149 - Jesse Jantzen (Harvard) dec. Zack Esposito (OSU), 9-3 165 - Troy Letters (Lehigh) dec. Tyrone Lewis (OSU), 5-2 174 - Chris Pendleton (OSU) dec. Ben Askren (MU), 11-4

Consolation Semifinals 133 - Johnny Thompson (OSU) dec. Travis Lee (Cornell), 10-8 157 - Alex Tirapelle (Illinois) dec. Johny Hendricks (OSU), 4-1 184 - Jake Rosholt (OSU) dec. Bryan Glynn (Ilinois), 5-3

Third-Place Match 133 - Johnny Thompson (OSU) dec. Darrell Vasquez (Cal Poly), 6-3 184 - Jake Rosholt (OSU) dec. Paul Bradley (Iowa), 6-5

Fifth-Place Match 157 - Johny Hendricks (OSU) fall Travis Paulson (ISU), 4:47

Seventh-Place Match 285 - Will Gruenwald (OSU) dec. Scott Coleman (ISU), 5-4

GoPokes Top Stories