Cowgirls in Big 12 Tourney

The ninth Big 12 Conference Soccer Tournament will take place Wednesday, Friday and Sunday at the Blossom Soccer Stadium in San Antonio, Texas. Tickets for the event are $5 per day or $10 for a three-day pass and can be purchased through the San Antonio Sports Foundation web site,, or at the stadium.

The Field
Seed Team Big 12 Overall
No. 1 Kansas 8-2-0 16-3-0
No. 2 Texas A&M 8-2-0 14-5-0
No. 3 Colorado 6-3-1 13-4-2
No. 4 Texas 6-3-1 11-5-2
No. 5 Nebraska 6-4-0 12-7-0
No. 6 Missouri 5-5-0 9-9-1
No. 7 Oklahoma State 4-5-1 12-5-2
No. 8 Iowa State 4-6-0 7-11-0

Cowgirls In San Antonio
Oklahoma State is making its third appearance in program history at the Big 12 Tournament. The Cowgirls enter as the No. 7 seed and will face second-seeded Texas A&M in the first round. If the Cowgirls get past the Aggies, they will meet the winner of the Colorado and Missouri contest. A&M defeated the Cowgirls 3-0 earlier this year in College Station. Oklahoma State beat Mizzou 3-1 and lost to Colorado 1-0, both in Stillwater.
Last year the Cowgirls won the tournament as the seventh-seed, knocking off Texas, Kansas and Missouri. Two years ago OSU faced A&M in the first round, losing 5-0.
Head Coach Karen Hancock Karen Hancock is in her ninth season at Oklahoma State and 11th season overall. Hancock built OSU?s program from scratch in 1996 and the hard work paid off when the 2003 Cowgirls won the Big 12 Tournament and earned a first-ever trip to the NCAA Tournament. Hancock reached a coaching milestone earlier this year against Louisiana-Lafayette, picking up her 100th career win.

2003 Tournament Recap
Game 1: Oklahoma State defeated second-seeded Texas 1-0 on a Cassie Lewis goal seven minutes into the second period, becoming just the second No. 7 seed to advance in the tournament.
Game 2: Cassie Lewis was once again the hero as the Cowgirls earned a berth in the championship contest with a 1-0 win against Kansas.
Championship Match: The game pitted the seventh-seeded Cowgirls and against Missouri, the No. 8 seed, and both teams provided a contest worthy of a Big 12 title. It was a see-saw battle as the teams traded goals until Nikki Wojtowicz scored the winning goal on a free kick with under two minutes remaining in the second overtime. Jeré Boykin, Cassie Lewis and Kathrin Lehmann were named to the all-tournament team. Lewis was tabbed offensive MVP and Lehmann the defensive MVP.

GoPokes Top Stories