Cowgirls Selected to NCAA Field

STILLWATER, Okla. ( — Oklahoma State's softball team was selected as part of the 64-team NCAA field, earning a berth in the Tucson, Ariz., regional. Arizona, the co-Pac 10 Champs, will host a regional for the eighth time in nine years. In addition to OSU, the Wildcats will host Lehigh and Princeton at Hillenbrand Stadium for games May 20-22.

"We are very excited to be a part of the tournament field," stated head coach Margaret Rebenar. "Eight teams were selected from the Big 12 and this shows the quality and depth of our region and the respect given by the committee."

The Cowgirls (33-22) will take on Princeton (35-18), the automatic qualifier out of the Ivy League in the opening game while Arizona (39-10), the No. 3 overall seed, will face Lehigh (41-8).

Should the Cowgirls advance to the Super Regional round, they will face the winner of the Oklahoma regional. In addition to OU, the 14th overall seed, Oregon, Louisiana-Lafayette and Wichita State will play at Marita Hynes Field on the OU campus.

This marks the first season for the Super Regional format with the 64-team field being split into 16 sites for four teams. The 16 regional winners advance to the next round, playing a three-game set to determine the Women's College World Series field.

More information will be posted on the official site of Oklahoma State Athletics,, as it becomes available.

GoPokes Top Stories