C-USA Admits Instant Replay Ruling Was Wrong

Conference USA admitted Monday that an instant replay review late in the first half of Oklahoma State's game against Houston should not have occurred, and the Cowboys should have been given the football after recovering a fumble by Cougar receiver Jeron Harvey. Four plays after the call was reversed Houston threw a 27-yard touchdown pass to go ahead at halftime 24-17, a lead it never relinquished.

On first-and-10 from the 32-yard line Houston quarterback Kevin Kolb threw to Harvey for an eight-yard gain, but as he was struggling for yardage he fumbled the ball and OSU's Andre Sexton recovered. But Cougar head coach Art Briles challenged the call on a claim that Harvey's forward progress had been stopped and the play was dead, even though officials reportedly never blew the whistle to signal the end of the play. The instant replay official reviewed the play and said that Harvey's forward progress had been stopped and gave the ball back to Houston.

According to C-USA commissioner Britton Banowsky, the play was not reviewable and the Cowboys should have been awarded the ball. A runner's forward progress may only be reviewed to determine whether or not the forward progress results in a first down.

"When we implemented instant replay, our goal was to get more calls right, which we have," said Banowsky.  "In this case, by rule, the call on the field should not have been reviewed, for which the instant replay official will be suspended."

Banowsky did not release the details of the suspension.

GoPokes Top Stories