Awards Presented at Senior Football Banquet

Oklahoma State held its annual Senior Football Banquet in the Student Union Ballroom on Sunday night. The banquet honored the 22 seniors in the football program, a list that included all the seniors and QBs Al Pena and Mike Friess who will depart after graduating. It also included defensive lineman Phillip Friess, who has graduated, and Caleb Noble, who graduated after having to give up football.

The banquet also honored all players that have received national or conference awards this season for on-the-field and off-the-field achievements. It included the debut of the 2006 Oklahoma State football season highlight tape, which was impressive in both production and narration.

The other reason for the banquet is to announce the individual awards for the season as determined by the coaching staff. Below are the awards and this year's winners.

Captain's Awards (given to the team elected captains for the 2006 season): Corey Hilliard, Victor DeGrate and Jason Ricks

Thurman Thomas Award (given to the team's top offensive player): Bobby Reid (133-of-238 passing for 2,054 yards with 23 touchdowns and 10 interceptions; 109 carries for 466 yards and five touchdowns)

Leslie O'Neal Award (given to the team's top defensive player): Victor DeGrate (40 total tackles, 25 unassisted, 10-5 tackles for loss, one forced fumble, and team-leading 8.5 sacks)

Mike Johnson Award (given to the player that displays the most spirit and enthusiasm): Martel Van Zant (60 total tackles, 41 unassisted, two interceptions, and one forced fumble)

Dr. L.L. Boger Award (given to the player that achieves the most academically and athletically): Darnell Smith (24 total tackles, 10 unassisted, three tackles for loss, one interception for touchdown, one fumble recovery, four-time First Team Academic All Big 12, All-Big 12 Good Works Team)

Barry Sanders Award (given to the player with the most contribution and least recognition): Kurt Seifried (started all 12 games and played every play needed on the offensive line)

Dick Bogert Award (given to the top freshman on the team): Offense, Russell Okung (started last seven games of the season at offensive right tackle); Defense, Patrick Lavine (66 total tackles, 39 unassisted, nine tackles for losses, one interception, one fumble recovery, one fumble forced)

Bob Fenimore Award (given to the overall most valuable player): Adarius Bowman (57 receptions for 1,131 yards, 19.8-yards per reception, 11 touchdowns, First Team All-Big 12 Coaches and AP, Big 12 Offensive Newcomer of the Year)

GoPokes Top Stories