Savage, Pettigrew Named First-Team All-Big 12

Oklahoma State running back Dantrell Savage and tight end Brandon Pettigrew were named first-team All-Big 12 Conference selections on Tuesday, as selected in voting by the conference's coaches. Three other Cowboys were named to the second team, and four players were honorable mention selections.

Wide receiver Adarius Bowman, offensive lineman David Koenig and defensive end Nathan Peterson were named to the All-Big 12 second team in voting by the league's coaches.

Earning honorable mention recognition were kick returner Perrish Cox, cornerback Jacob Lacey, offensive lineman Russell Okung, and linebacker Donovan Woods.

Savage, the senior running back from Columbus, Ga., rushed for 1,172 yards despite missing two games and parts of a third early in the season with an injury. He ran for more than 100 yards against all eight Big 12 opponents this season, including a career-best 212 yards against Nebraska. He is the first OSU running back to earn first-team All-Big 12 honors since Tatum Bell in 2003.

Pettigrew, a junior tight end from Tyler, Texas, caught 32 passes for 501 yards and four touchdowns. The 6-6, 260-pound Pettigrew's best game was an eight-catch, 87-yard performance against Texas. He is just the second OSU tight end to earn first-team all-conference honors, joining Alonzo Mayes (1996 and 1997).

Bowman, a senior from Chattanooga, Tenn., caught 61 passes for 932 yards and seven touchdowns despite missing nearly three full Big 12 games due to a leg injury. He was a first-team selection a year ago.

Koenig, a senior from Cape Coral, Fla., started 36 games for the Cowboys and anchored an offensive line that allowed a league-low five sacks in eight Big 12 games.

Peterson, a senior from Tulsa, Okla., led the Big 12 with six quarterback sacks in Big 12 games. He is fourth on OSU's all-time sack list with 20.5 in his career.

GoPokes Top Stories