OSU Wins 49th Title

Oklahoma State University, third in Division I in team national championships, now has added to its total with the school's 49th national championship after the Cowboys cross country team dominated the men's race Monday in the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships in Terre Haute, Ind., on the campus of Indiana State University.

The Cowboys featured sixth-year senior Ryan Vail finishing seventh with a time of 29 minutes,41 seconds in the 10,000-meter race. Colby Lowe was right behind in eighth with a time of 29:43. John Kosgei was 11th in a time of 29:49 and Girma Mecheso finished 24th in 30:14 on the course.

The Cowboys were dominant in winning with 127 points with powerhouse Oregon in second with 143 points. Alabama was third with 173 points.

Oklahoma State cross country and track All-American and NCAA mile champion German Fernandez has been battling injuries and he finished in 77th position.

Sanuel Chelanga of Liberty was the individual champion among the men with a time of 28 minutes and 41.3 seconds. Villanova was the women's team champion.

The Cowboys had been strong all season in also winning the Big 12 Championship with runners finsihing first, second, third and fourth.

It was Vail that was the first Cowboy across the line at the Big 12 meet in Columbia, Mo. The Cowboys also won the team title at the NCAA Midwest Regional in Springfield, Mo.

Below are the top 10 finishing teams in the Division I Men's NCAA Cross Country Championship.
2. Oregon 143
3. Alabama 173
4. Northern Arizona 190
5. William and Mary 226
6. Colorado 315
7. Wisconsin 321
8. New Mexico 350
(tie) Iona 350
10. Stanford 354

GoPokes Top Stories