Team Young, Team Brewer Advance

STILLWATER - The Oklahoma State Cowboys were on Boone Pickens Stadium as offseason workouts continued Tuesday with perhaps the most popular activity as the team competition was in full swing as the semifinals were contested. The football squad is split up into eight teams of approximately 12 to 14 players with each coached by a member of the coaching staff and captained by a player.

In fact, it is the players that draft the teams.

Tuesday's semifinals had defensive coordinator Bill Young's team, captained by defensive end Jamie Blatnick, going against Doug Meacham's squad, captained by middle linebacker Orie Lemon.

The other semifinal was contested by offensive line coach Joe Wickline's team, captained by safety Markelle Martin, and wide receiver coach Gunter Brewer's unit, led by running back Kendall Hunter.

The match between Team Brewer and Team Wickline started with the sled pull as the first of their seven events. The Brewsters got out of the gate quick as Josh Tebbe edged out David Paulsen on the first heat, a near photo finish.

That momentum started a streak of five winning heats in a row as defensive end Nigel Nicholas defeated fellow defensive end Jared Glover, Kendall Hunter came from behind to clip Markelle Martin at the line, followed by wins by heavyweight offensive linemen Levy Adcock and Casey LaBrue. Wickline was seeing his own guys put his team in a big hole.

By the time the two teams were through the sled pull, tire flip, and three-cone drill, Team Brewer had a 20-12 lead.

Words of encouragement from Wickline got his team started as the two teams split the points on the tug-of-war with Brewer's stacked team of LaBrue, Nicholas, Adcock and Tebbe winning one pull, while the stacked Wickline team of Paulsen, Glover and defensive ends Richetti Jones and Darius Hart made quick work of the other heat. It got better for Team Wickline, but in the end Team Brewer survived by three points.

Other members of Team Brewer include inside receiver Justin Horton, running back Michael Roberts, wide receiver Charlie Moore, linebacker LeRon Furr, inside receiver Tracy Moore, and new quarterback Johnny Deaton.

The other match was closer at the beginning as Team Meacham and Team Young started on the three-cone drill. After two events Young's group led Meacham's team 9-7.

The two teams split the tug-of-war with a stacked team of offensive lineman Jordan Taormina, a slimmed down offensive guard Anthony Morgan, defensive tackle Chris Donaldson and linebacker Orie Lemon edging a team that included defensive tackle Shane Jarka, defensive tackle Anthony Rogers and offensive lineman DeJuan Davis.

Team Young settled that score on the next tug when a team led by All-Big 12 fullback Bryant Ward and Jamie Blatnick won a very short contest over a team of primarily wide receivers.

The next event was the individual tug, using the mini-gripped device filled with water that makes it weigh in at 40 pounds. In one of the best contests of the day that saw both athletes go to the ground more than once but still hang on, Chris Donaldson defeated fellow defensive tackle Shane Jarka.

But in the speed events with the obstacle course and the bag drill it was Team Young that prevailed to set up a championship match next week between Team Young and Team Brewer.

The other members of Team Young that helped notch the win include wide receivers Isaiah Anderson and Adrian Richards, linebacker Kenny Alexander, cornerback Nick Rockwell, quarterback Trey Munden, and offensive linemen Chuck Major.

The championship match will be contested next Tuesday during the final week of offseason workouts and before spring practice begins on March 8.

GoPokes Top Stories