Anderson Named First Team All-American

James Anderson became the first Oklahoma State player since 1951 to earn first team All-American honors by The Sporting News, it was announced Tuesday. Anderson is the Big 12's leading scorer and ranks third nationally with his 22.9 points per game average entering Wednesday night's first-round game in the Big 12 Tournament against Oklahoma.

The 6-foot-6 Anderson was named the Big 12 Player of the Year earlier this week by both the conference coaches and in voting by members of the media (Associated Press).

Anderson was one of five players selected for The Sporting News first team, joining Scottie Reynolds of Villanova, Evan Turner of Ohio State, John Wall of Kentucky, and Greivis Vasquez of Maryland.

The last time an Oklahoma State player received first team recognition from The Sporting News was in 1951 when Gail McArthur was honored after leading his team to a 29-6 record.

Joey Graham was the last Cowboy player to receive All-American recognition before Anderson. Graham was a third-team All-American selection by the National Association of Basketball Coaches following his senior season in 2004-05.

Anderson joins a long list of former Oklahoma State/Oklahoma A&M standouts who have earned All-American honors, including Bob Kurland (1944, 45 & 46), Byron Houston (1990, 91 & 92), Bryant Reeves (1994 & 1995), Desmond Mason (2000), and Tony Allen (2004), to name just a few.

Sporting News All-Americans
First team
G James Anderson, Oklahoma State
G Scottie Reynolds,Villanova
G Evan Turner, Ohio State
G John Wall, Kentucky
G Greivis Vasquez, Maryland

Second team
G Sherron Collins, Kansas
G Jon Scheyer, Duke
F Damion James, Texas
F Wesley Johnson, Syracuse
F/C DeMarcus Cousins, Kentucky

Third team
G Jordan Crawford, Xavier
G Jimmer Fredette, BYU
G Jacob Pullen, Kansas State
F Darington Hobson, New Mexico
C Luke Harangody, Notre Dame

Fourth team
G Jerome Randle, California
G Devan Downey, South Carolina
G Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech
G Matt Bouldin, Gonzaga
G Tweety Carter, Baylor

Fifth team
G Andy Rautins, Syracuse
G Trevon Hughes, Wisconsin
F Lazar Hayward, Marquette
F Kyle Singler, Duke
F Austin Freeman, Georgetown

GoPokes Top Stories