Trio of Sooners Make All-Big 12 First Team

NORMAN, Okla. -- The No. 12 Sooners raked in the Big 12 awards this year, as third baseman Garrett Buechele, catcher Tyler Ogle and starting pitcher Michael Rocha all three snagged First Team honors.

It's the first time since 2009 and only the fourth occasion--the others were in 1997 and 1998--during the Big 12 era in which OU has had at least three first team members.

It had five back in 1998, with this year tying 1997 and 2009 for the second most first team honorees during the era.

Two others, first baseman Cameron Seitzer and left fielder Casey Johnson, were listed on the All-Big 12 Second Team.

Three more, including designated hitter Evan Mistich, reliever Dillon Overton and starting pitcher Burch Smith, earned honorable mention, while pitcher Jordan John also joined Overton on the All-Big 12 Freshman Team.

That made for a total of 10 honorees.

Buechele became the first since Casey Bookout from 1997-99 to repeat as a first team member.

Geoff Geary, who accomplished the feat in 1997 and 1998, is the only other Big 12 era Sooner to do so.

Aside from Buechele, Seitzer is the only returning All-Big 12 member on the squad.

With conference rewards now in the rearview mirror, the Sooners will now open up the conference tournament as the three-seed against No. 6 Kansas State at 7:30 p.m. Wednesday night at Redhawks Field.

Follow me at or

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories