Sooner Duo Makes Outland, Nagurski Lists

NORMAN, Okla. -- Two more preseason watch lists were announced Friday morning, and to no surprise, two more Sooners are on them.

The Football Writers Association of America released the Outland Trophy list, which has OU junior center Ben Habern among the group, and senior linebacker Travis Lewis appears on the Bronko Nagurski list.

The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the top lineman in the nation, while the Nagurski Award is presented to the top defensive player.

Habern, the Sooner starting center from Argyle, Texas, started all 14 contests last year and anchored the offensive line with a team highs of 1,070 snaps and 123 knockdowns.

Because of that, he earned honorable mention All-Big 12 in 2010.

Lewis, from San Antonio, has led the Sooners in tackling for all three of his seasons and comes into the 2011 season just 82 tackles shy of cracking OU's all-time Top 10 list.

He currently stands at 362 career tackles.

As for the awards, the Sooners have some history with each.

In fact, five players have claimed the Outland Trophy, including Jim Weatherall, J.D. Roberts, Lee Roy Selmon, Greg Roberts and the most latest, Jammal Brown in 2004.

A pair of Sooners, Roy Williams in 2001 and Derrick Strait in 2003, have won the Nagurski Award.

Follow me at or

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories