Jones Named to Davey O'Brien Preseason List

The Davey O'Brien foundation released its watch list for the 2011 season today, and OU quarterback Landry Jones was one of 38 mentioned.

Jones is one of seven semifinalists from last year to be on the list, which also includes fellow semifinalists Matt Barkley (USC), Kirk Cousins (Michigan State), Robert Griffin III (Baylor), Taylor Martinez (Nebraska), Denard Robinson (Michigan) and Darron Thomas (Oregon).

And this year's watch list also features three other Big 12 signal callers, including Griffin III, Texas A&M's Ryan Tannehill and Oklahoma State's Brandon Weeden.

While it's not a requirement that the winner is named to this list at the beginning of the season, it typically features the eventual recipient.

The field will be narrowed to 16 on Monday, Oct. 24, and the Davey O'Brien Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 21.

Then, the 2011 Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® al;dkjfal;ksdjfk winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 8.

This year's winner will be presented at the 35th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner on Feb. 20, 2012 in Fort Worth, Texas.

Follow me at or

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories