Sooners Dominate Nagurski Watch List

Four OU players under consideration for award that honors nation's top defender

NORMAN, Okla. -  The Charlotte Touchdown Club and the Football Writers
Association of America have announced 36 college football players on the preseason watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Award.  The Nagurski Award recognizes the nation's top defensive player.

The four Sooners include FS Brandon Everage, DT Tommie Harris, LB Teddy
Lehman and cornerback Derrick Strait.

With four players on the list, OU easily outdistanced the other schools. Four other schools had two named to the list.

This is the 11th season for the Nagurski Award, which went to Oklahoma's Roy Williams in 2001.  Last year's winner was Terrell Suggs from Arizona State.

Five finalists for this year's award will be announced in November and the winner will be announced December 8th at an awards banquet in Charlotte, North Carolina.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories