Six Sooners Crash First Team All-Big 12 Party

NORMAN, Okla. — The Coaches' All-Big 12 Conference teams were released Wednesday and defensive end Frank Alexander snagged Co-Defensive Player of the Year, and five other Sooners joined him on the First Team.

Defensively, fellow D-end Ronnell Lewis and cornerback Jamell Fleming made the list. On the other side of the ball, fullback Trey Millard earned the honors, as well as slot receiver Ryan Broyles and left guard Gabe Ikard. Along with earning Co-Defensive Player of the Year, Alexander was named Defensive Lineman of the Year and an unanimous selection for First-Team All-Big 12 defensive lineman, one of just four who were unanimous. ?It's the second straight year OU has produced the defensive lineman of the year, as defensive end Jeremy Beal did so last year, and the award racks OU's total up to 27 major awards in the 16-year history of the Big 12 Conference, the most for any school. The Sooners also sent four to the Second Team, including wide receiver Kenny Stills, tight end James Hanna, linebacker Travis Lewis and field cornerback Demontre Hurst. Nine other Sooners made the honorable mention list, including right guard Tyler Evans, running back Roy Finch, place kicker Michael Hunnicutt, defensive back Tony Jefferson, linebacker Corey Nelson, left tackle Donald Stephenson, punter Tress Way, running back Dominique Whaley and linebacker Tom Wort. Bob Stoops received votes for honorable mention Coach of the Year.

Follow me at or

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories