OU vs. Clemson in Russell Athletic Bowl

OU is heading to Orlando to play Clemson in the Russell Athletic Bowl.

Oklahoma and Clemson both won BCS bowl games to being the 2014 calendar year. Neither had a 2014 season they would love to remember, but they’re looking to close it off on a positive note.

The Sooners and Tigers are going to square off in the Russell Athletic Bowl on Dec. 29 in Orlando, Fla., it was announced Sunday afternoon.

Clemson enters at 9-3, while OU comes in at 8-4 following another disappointing home loss Saturday. The Sooners led Bedlam rival Oklahoma State 35-21 with five minutes left in the fourth quarter but lost 38-35 in overtime.

OU fell out of the top 25 in the college football playoff poll, while Clemson is No. 17.

Obviously the first name that comes to mind with the two schools is Brent Venables. Now the defensive coordinator at Clemson, Venables came to Clemson after several years as an assistant with the Sooners.

The game is at 4:30 p.m. CST and will be broadcast on ESPN.

The bowl began as the Blockbuster Bowl in Miami in December 1990. It kept that name for its first three games before becoming the Carquest Bowl (1994-1997), Micronpc Bowl (1998-98) and Micronpc.com Bowl (2000).

In 2001, the bowl moved to Orlando and was known as the Visit Florida Tangerine Bowl for a year before becoming the Mazda Tangerine Bowl for two seasons (2002-03). From 2004-11, the game was known as the Champs Sports Bowl before becoming the Russell Athletic Bowl in 2012.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories