Perine leads OU's AP honors

Eight OU players were recognized by the Associated Press for first or second team All-Big 12 honors.

Oklahoma freshman running back Samaje Perine entered the season looking like the No. 3 running back with a name not everybody knew how to pronounce.

He leaves as the Associated Press’ Big 12 Offensive Newcomer of the Year and as the holder of the all-time NCAA FBS single game record of 427 rushing yards in a game.

Perine anchors a quality group of Sooners picked for AP All-Big 12 honors Monday afternoon. Perine was the only unanimous selection for OU as first-team running back.

He rushed for 1,579 yards and 21 touchdowns, including his history-making performance against Kansas last month.

Joining Perine on the first team is offensive tackle Daryl Williams, linebacker Eric Striker and cornerback Zack Sanchez. Offensive lineman Tyrus Thompson, wide receiver Sterling Shepard, linebacker Dominique Alexander and defensive tackle Jordan Phillips made the second team.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories