Williams, Bell among OU banquet honorees

It was banquet time for Oklahoma and the Sooners recognized numerous players Friday.

Second weekend in December can only mean one thing for Oklahoma – time for the annual football banquet. The Sooners recognized several players Friday night for the contributions on and off the field.

The Bob Kalsu Award, given to the senior who displays the most leadership and serves as a motivator for his teammates, had co-winners this year with tight end Blake Bell and offensive tackle Daryl Williams both receiving the honor.

Already announced last week, fullback Aaron Ripkowski was once again honored as the Don Key Award winner, given to a senior who exemplifies all-around excellence in the classroom and on the field.

For the second year in a row, Oklahoma City Casady alum David Driskill was named the Derrick Shepard Most Inspirational Walk-On Player of the Year. Driskill and Najee Bissoon were also named the Defensive Scout Players of the Year.

Kicker Michael Hunnicutt and kickoff specialist Nick Hodgson were named the Special Teams Players of the Year, while Nick Basquine, Baker Mayfield and Joe Palange received the Offensive Scout Team Players of the Year.

The Sooners recognized punter Jed Barnett, center Ty Darlington, linebacker Aaron Franklin, linebacker Caleb Gastelum, linebacker Geneo Grissom, safety Quentin Hayes, defensive lineman Chuka Ndulue and offensive tackles Tyrus Thompson and Daryl Williams as December 2014 graduates.

Darlington, a junior, needed just 2 ½ years to graduate from OU with a 3.96 GPA. An Academic All-America, Darlington also spoke at the OU College of Arts & Sciences convocation Friday night.

The 21 seniors on OU’s roster were also recognized by coach Bob Stoops for all of their contributions to the program.

OU returned to practice Saturday morning in preparation for the Russell Athletic Bowl against Clemson at 4:30 p.m. CST on Dec. 29.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories