OU leads way for preseason All-Big 12 honors

Expectations are high in Norman as Sooners earn nine selections to All-Big 12 preseason first team.

Everybody knows expectations are high for Oklahoma for the 2016 season. But with the preseason All-Big 12 team released Wednesday as voted by the media, you get to know just how high.

The Sooners had far and away the most representatives with nine. Four offense, four defense and one special teams. The next closest school is Kansas State with five.

On offense, the media selected quarterback Baker Mayfield, running back Samaje Perine, tight end Mark Andrews and offensive tackle Orlando Brown.

Mayfield was picked as the Offensive Player of the Year. And Perine’s distinguishable feat is he is the lone player picked to the preseason team both last year and this year. Nobody else on either side of the ball.

On defense, the quartet of defensive lineman Charles Walker, linebacker Jordan Evans and defensive backs Jordan Thomas and Steven Parker earned the honors to go with punter Austin Seibert.

Texas linebacker Malik Jefferson was selected as the Defensive Player of the Year, while TCU quarterback Kenny Hill (transfer from Texas A&M) was named as the Newcomer of the Year.

Here are the tweets from the Big 12 announcing the full teams:







Sooners Illustrated Top Stories