Switzer, Jackson headed for the hall

Barry Switzer and Keith Jackson will be inducted into the College Hall of Fame Tuesday night in South Bend, Ind.

Former Oklahoma Head Coach Barry Switzer and tight end Keith Jackson will be among 16 individuals inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame Tuesday night in South Bend, Ind.

Switzer, who coached the Sooners from 1973-1989), is the winningest coach in Oklahoma history (157-29-4) and his winning percentage (89.4) is good for the fourth best among NCAA Division-1 coaches.

Jackson caught 62 passes during his four-year career for 1,470 yards and 13 touchdowns.

Switzer joins Bennie Owen and Bud Wilkinson as the third Sooner coach to go into the hall while Jackson becomes the 15th Sooner to be inducted.

The previous 14 include (Year inducted in parentheses): Kurt Burris (2000), Forrest "Spot" Geyer (1973), Tommy McDonald (1985), Jim Owens (1982), Steve Owens (1991), Greg Pruitt (1999), Claude Reeds (1961), J.D. Roberts (1993), Lee Roy Selmon (1988), Billy Sims (1995), Jerry Tubbs (1996), Jim Weatherall (1992), Walter Young (1986), and Billy Vessels (1974).

Jackson and Switzer will also become the first player-coach combination to be inducted in the same year.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories