White, Brown bring home the hardware

Jason White holds up the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award, left, and the Maxwell Award for outstanding all around player, right, following being awarded them at the Home Depot College Football Awards Thursday in Lake Buena Vista, Fla. (AP Photo/Scott Audette)

Thursday night was a good night for Jason White, Jammal Brown and the Oklahoma football program in general.

White, who already had an assortment of awards including last season's Heisman Trophy, added two more statues for his trophy case, while Brown added one.

White didn't win the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, which went to USC's Matt Leinart, but he didn't exactly leave empty-handed either. White won the Davey O'Brien Award (best quarterback) and Maxwell Award (best overall player), which has been known to be a good predictor for the Heisman as 14 of the last 19 winners have went on to win the coveted award.

"This is certainly a great honor," White told the Associated Press. "But you know in the grand scheme of things, it really doesn't mean very much unless we're able to win it all. I'd rather be on the best team in the nation than to be the best overall player in the nation."

White won the O'Brien Award in 2003. However, he is the first Sooner to win the Maxwell since Tommy McDonald in 1956. The Senior from Tuttle, Okla. edged out Leinart and Adrian Peterson for the Maxwell and Leinart and Utah quarterback Alex Smith for the O'Brien.

Brown, a senior from Lawton, became the fifth Sooner to win the Outland Trophy, which is presented to the nation's most outstanding interior lineman, beating out Michigan's David Baas and Florida State's Alex Barron.

Greg Roberts was the last Sooner to win the award in 1978. Lee Roy Selmon, J.D. Roberts and Jim Weatherall are the other three Sooners to win the coveted award.

Oklahoma running back Adrian Peterson was up for two awards, but fell short to White for the Maxwell and Texas running back Cedric Benson for the Doak.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories