Paris, Coale bring home Big 12 honors

Coale win Coach of the Year award for third time, while Paris wins Newcomer Award and First Team honors.

For the third time in her career, Oklahoma head coach Sherri Coale was named the Big 12's Coach of the Year on Friday.

Coale, who guided the Sooners to the first perfect regular season in conference history, also won the award in 2000 and 2001.

Sooner freshman center Courtney Paris, who led the leauge in five statistical categories including rebounding and blocked shots, finished second in the Player of the Year race to Baylor's Sophia Young in the coaches' vote. However, she was named the Big 12's Freshman of the Year and shared Defensive Player of the Year honors with Young.

Paris was also named to the All-Big 12 First team, Defensive Team and All-Rookie Team.

Leah Rush named was to the All-Big 12 second team, while Britney Brown, Erin Higgins and Chelsi Welch garnered honorable mention honors.

Complete Big 12 Awards Listing

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories