Stoops' Sooners will begin 2002 season at No. 3

Defending national champion Miami tops the preseason ESPN/USA Today Coaches Top 25 Poll

It's time to throw away the polls from your preseason football magazines.

The 2002 College football season officially launched Thursday afternoon with the release of the ESPN/USA Today Coaches Top 25 poll.

Defending national champion Miami retained the top spot after claiming the Sears Trophy a year ago in the Rose Bowl. The 'Canes, who were a perfect 12-0 in 2001, garnered 34 first place votes.
Texas edged out Oklahoma for the second spot, despite the Sooners having more first place (11) votes and having already been picked to win the Big 12 South division by the conferences coaches.

In all, four Big 12 teams (Texas, Oklahoma, Colorado and Nebraska) will begin the season ranked in the top 10. Colorado is No. 6 and the Cornhuskers will open the season at No. 8.

The Associated Press Top 25 poll will be released August 10.

Click the link below for the complete poll.

Miami retians No. 1 ranking in first coaches poll

Coaches voting in this year's poll include: Barry Alvarez, Wisconsin; Gary Barnett, Colorado; Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech; Mike Bellotti, Oregon; Todd Berry, Army; Jack Bicknell, Louisiana Tech; Larry Blakeney, Troy State; Bobby Bowden, Florida State; Tommy Bowden, Clemson; Jeff Bower, Southern Mississippi; Mack Brown, Texas; Watson Brown, Alabama-Birmingham; Keith Burns, Tulsa; Lloyd Carr, Michigan; Larry Coker, Miami (Fla.); Gary Crowton, Brigham Young; Gary Darnell, Western Michigan; Darrell Dickey, North Texas; Randy Edsall, Connecticut; Ralph Friedgen, Maryland; Phillip Fulmer, Tennessee; Al Groh, Virginia; Walt Harris, Pittsburgh; Pat Hill, Fresno State; Terry Hoeppner, Miami (Ohio); Lou Holtz, South Carolina; Bobby Keasler, Louisiana-Monroe; Dirk Koetter, Arizona State; Mike Kruczek, Central Florida; Steve Logan, East Carolina; Rocky Long, New Mexico; Sonny Lubick, Colorado State; Bill Lynch, Ball State; Ron McBride, Utah; Dan McCarney, Iowa State; Andy McCollum, Middle Tennessee; John Mackovic, Arizona; Glen Mason, Minneosta; Rick Neuheisel, Washington; Gary Nord, Texas-El Paso; Joe Novak, Northern Illinois; Houston Nutt, Arkansas; Tom O'Brien, Boston College; Lee Owens, Akron; Joe Paterno, Penn State; Gary Pinkel, Missouri; Mike Price, Washington State; Bob Pruett, Marshall; Nick Saban, LSU; Jackie Sherrill, Mississippi State; R.C. Slocum, Texas A&M; John L. Smith, Louisville; Frank Solich, Nebraska; Bob Stoops, Oklahoma; Bob Toledo, UCLA; Chris Tormey, Nevada; Tommy Tuberville, Auburn; Ron Turner, Illinois; Bobby Wallace, Temple; Tyrone Willingham, Notre Dame.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories