Five Sooners on Bednarik List

NORMAN, Okla. -- Five Oklahoma Sooners are on the 2008 Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List. The honor is presented annually by the Maxwell Football Club to college football's outstanding defensive player.

The five OU players on the list are DE Auston English, DT DeMarcus Granger, S Nic Harris, DT Gerald McCoy and LB Ryan Reynolds.

English was a consensus All-Big 12 pick last season and an honorable mention All-American by Sports Illustrated. He ranked No. 15 nationally with 9.5 sacks, which he accumulated in just 11 games. The junior also led OU in tackles for loss with 13.

Granger was a starter in 11 games and was second-team All-Big 12. He had 35 tackles, including 8.5 for loss and 3.5 sacks. McCoy was the Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year and a Sporting News Freshman All-American after racking up 6.5 tackles for loss, two sacks and a fumble recovery.

Reynolds worked out outside linebacker last season when he registered 60 tackles and one interception. This season, the junior moves to the middle linebacker position.

The Chuck Bednarik Award has been presented since 1995 and is named in honor of Chuck Bednarik, a former University of Pennsylvania and Philadelphia Eagle great. Mr. Bednarik is a member of both the College Football Hall of Fame 69' and the NFL Hall of Fame 67'.

Oklahoma produced one previous winner of the Bednarik and that was Teddy Lehman in 2003.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories