Sooners Name Football Captains

NORMAN, Okla. -- Sam Bradford, Jon Cooper, Brody Eldridge, Nic Harris and Gerald McCoy have been named Oklahoma's team captains for the upcoming football season.

The players were selected in a vote taken by the team.

Bradford, a quarterback, Cooper, a center, and Eldridge, a tight end/fullback are the offensive captains. Harris, a safety, and McCoy, a defensive tackle, are the defensive captains.

Cooper and Harris are seniors, Eldridge a junior and Bradford and McCoy redshirt sophomores.

Oklahoma, ranked No. 4 in both preseason polls, opens its 2008 season this Saturday when it hosts UT-Chattanooga. Kickoff is set for 6:10 p.m.

FOX SportsNet is carrying the game on a pay-per-view basis. The network said it will release a list of carriers later this week.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories