Bradford Cited by O'Brien Award

FORT WORTH, Texas -- The Davey O'Brien Foundation has named Sam Bradford of the University of Oklahoma the O'Brien Quarterback of the Week for week two. The sophomore sign caller led the Sooners in a 52-26 victory over the Cincinnati Bearcats on Saturday.

"Sam was fantastic at the line of scrimmage," head coach Bob Stoops said in postgame comments. "Sam's such a good decision-maker. You have confidence to do whatever you want to do. I thought he threw the ball incredibly well."

Bradford's performance included a career-best 395 yards and five touchdowns, extending the Sooners' home winning streak to the nation's longest at 20 games. The performance marked Bradford's third career 300-yard passing game while his 29 completions also registered as a career high.

Bradford took over the starting duties in 2007 and set the NCAA freshman record for touchdown passes with 36. He also led the nation with a passing efficiency rating of 176.53.

The 2005 Putnam City North High School graduate was named to the Oklahoma Coaches Association All-State Team and threw for 2,422 yards and 19 touchdowns his senior year.

Each week a subset of the Davey O'Brien National Selection Committee will name the quarterback of the week who exemplifies the award's standards. The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year.

Currently all 119 Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) quarterbacks are candidates for the award until Semifinalists are announced on October 27. Finalists will be announced November 24. The 2008 Winner will be announced December 11.  

About The O'Brien Fan Vote

Fans can now register and vote for The O'Brien Fan Vote online at to show their support for their favorite college quarterback. Fans will be able to choose from any of the 119 FBS quarterbacks beginning on Tuesday, September 2, leaving room for the possibility of a quarterback who is not on the Watch List to win the award. The top three quarterbacks who garner the most votes will be added to The O'Brien Semifinalist List, and the Fan Vote will then count as 5% in determining the Finalists and Winner. The 2008 Winner will be announced during The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show airing December 11 on ESPN. The recipient will be honored February 16, 2009, at the 32nd Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner at The Fort Worth Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

About The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

The O'Brien honors the nation's best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field. By recognizing and honoring athletes who excel in both sports and academics while exhibiting strong character and leadership, The O'Brien aims to help instill a lifelong moral fiber in each candidate. The O'Brien is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which was founded in 1977 and is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas. The Foundation has given away more than $750,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories