Sooners' Name 2002 MVP's

Griffin, Lehman, Everage and Perkins get top billing at the annual Football Awards Banquet attented by Coaches, players and recruits Friday evening on the OU campus.

Running back Quentin Griffin, defensive back Brandon Everage, linebacker Teddy Lehman and return specialist Antonio Perkins snared most valuable player honors at Oklahoma's football awards ceremony Friday night on the OU campus. The event was held at the Rupel Jones Theater and was attended by coaches, palyers and recruits in town for a big recruiting weekend..

Griffin was the offensive MVP, while Everage and Lehman shared the defensive honor and Perkins won for the special teams.

Linemen of the year awards went to Tommie Harris and Kory Klein on defense and to Brad Davis on offense.

The offensive newcomer/freshman of the year award was split between running backs Kejuan Jones and J.D. Runnels, while the same honor for the defense went to linebacker Lance Mitchell.

The offensive scout team players of the year were Danny Cork, Aaron Rooney and John Flynn. Their defensive counterparts were Vershon Sublet, Paddyson Chidi and Laromie Hammer.

The Iron Man Award for top strength and conditioning work by first-year players went to quarterback Paul Thompson and linebacker end Rufus Alexander. The Sooner Iron Man for upperclassmen went to Griffin, Klein and Lehman.

Oklahoma will hold its final practice in Norman for this season on Saturday before the team disperses for the holiday break. The Sooners will fly to Los Angeles on Christmas day to resume preparations for the 2003 Rose Bowl against Washington State. That game will be played Jan. 1, in Pasadena and will be televised nationally by ABC.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories