Four Sooners on Maxwell List

NORMAN, Okla. -- Four Oklahoma players are on the preseason watch list for the 73rd Maxwell Award. Maxwell Football Club President Ron Jaworski made the announcement today. There are a total of 55 players on the list.

The Maxwell Award is presented annually to the top player in college football.

Quarterback Sam Bradford, running back Chris Brown, tight end Jermaine Gresham and running back DeMarco Murray are all on the list.

Bradford won the Heisman Trophy last season, while Gresham was a first-team All-American. Brown and Murray both eclipsed 1,000 yards for the season with 1,220 and 1,002 respectively.

The Maxwell Award has been presented to the outstanding collegiate football player in America since 1937 and is named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell. The Maxwell Football Club, founded in 1935, is based in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and is the oldest football club in the United States.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced on November 4th and three finalists for each award will be announced November 23rd.

The winner of the 2009 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show which will be held on December 10, 2009.

The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 5, 2010.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's Selection Committee and the Maxwell Club reserves the right to make additions and subtractions to these lists as the 2009 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA Sports Information Directors, Head Coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories