Sooners Choose Captains

NORMAN, Okla. - Oklahoma announced its team captains today for the 2009 football season. The captains were selected in a vote by the team.

The four players accumulating the most votes were quarterback Sam Bradford, tight end Brody Eldridge, defensive tackle Gerald McCoy and linebacker Ryan Reynolds.

According to head coach Bob Stoops, enough other players received considerable votes that another captain roles will rotate among a group comprised of defensive end Jeremy Beal, running back Chris Brown, fullback Matt Clapp, linebacker Keenan Clayton, Auston English, Jermaine Gresham and Trent Williams.

"I appreciate the four who received the most votes and they will represent the team well," Stoops said, "but I also think it says a lot about our program that so many other players were mentioned on the ballots. We have a large pool of players who fit the role of captain and that tells me that we have a healthy and cohesive locker room."

Oklahoma is continuing its preparations for the Sept. 5 opener against BYU at Cowboys Stadium in Arlington, Texas.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories