McCoy a Lombardi Finalist

NORMAN, Okla. – Oklahoma's Gerald McCoy was named one of four finalists for the 2009 Rotary Lombardi Award as The Rotary Club of Houston announced its selections Tuesday.

Gerald McCoy joins Alabama's Terrence Cody, TCU's Jerry Hughes and Nebraska's Ndamukong Suh as a finalist as the junior looks to become Oklahoma's fourth Lombardi Award winner and first since Tommie Harris in 2003.

This year's winner will be announced at an awards dinner on Dec. 9 at the Hilton Americas Hotel in downtown Houston.

McCoy, the only non-senior of the four finalists, has recorded 55 percent of his tackles behind the line of scrimmage. The Oklahoma City native currently leads the Sooners with eight quarterback hurries while accumulating 3.5 sacks and 17 solo tackles.

Along with Harris' Lombardi win in 2003, Tony Casillas (1985) and Lee Roy Selmon (1975) had previously won the honor.

The voters for the Rotary Lombardi Award consist of all head coaches of NCAA Football Bowl Subdivision teams, all of the former winners and finalists of the Rotary Lombardi Award, and selected members of the media.

The Rotary Club of Houston founded the Rotary Lombardi Award in 1970, in the weeks following the death of legendary football coach Vince Lombardi from cancer. The 40th Rotary Lombardi Award dinner will be held on December 9, 2009, at the Hilton Americas Hotel. Net proceeds from the event benefit the American Cancer Society. For more information call the Rotary Club of Houston at 713-973-9936 or visit the website at

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories