Jones Makes Davey O'Brien Watch List

NORMAN, Okla.—OU quarterback Landry Jones has been named to the 2010 Davey O'Brien Award watch list, which was released today in Fort Worth, Texas.

The award is given annually to the nation's top quarterback and this year will be announced on December 9 at The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show.

Jones entered as the starter last year when Heisman quarterback Sam Bradford suffered a third-degree AC sprain in his right shoulder, and he led freshmen quarterbacks around the nation with 3,198 passing yards and 26 touchdown tosses.

His passing yardage last year was enough to surpass Bradford's 3,121 back in 2007.

The list features 30 of the top quarterbacks around the nation, and OU has won the award four times—three times under Sooner head coach Bob Stoops—with Bradford as the last to do it back in 2008.

Sooners Illustrated Top Stories