SEC announces honors

Rebel SS Zack Cozart was named First-Team All-SEC and Jordan Henry was tabbed SEC Freshman of the Year by the league's coaches. Several other Rebels were also chosen to the all-star teams.

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. -- Florida senior first baseman Matt LaPorta was selected 2007 SEC Baseball Player of the Year, Vanderbilt's junior lefthander David Price was named SEC Pitcher of the Year and Ole Miss outfielder Jordan Henry was named SEC Freshman of the Year by a vote of the league's 12 head baseball coaches. The coaches also tabbed Vanderbilt skipper Tim Corbin as SEC Coach of the Year. Alabama outfielder Emeel Salem was named SEC Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the second consecutive year.

LaPorta and Price lead a list of players named to the first and second-team All-SEC squads for this season. A semifinalist for the Dick Howser Trophy, presented to the top player in collegiate baseball, LaPorta is hitting an SEC-best .419 with 59 runs, 51 walks, 50 RBI and 19 home runs. He leads the league with an .838 slugging percentage and an on-base percentage of .591 and drew 10 walks (nine intentional) in 14 plate appearances last weekend versus Tennessee. Price was named the lone National Player of the Week by Collegiate Baseball after he struck out 15 batters in 8 2/3 innings in the Commodores 4-1 win over LSU last Thursday. He gave up one run on four hits as he improved to 10-0 on the season. The 15 strikeouts allowed him to shatter his own single-season school record of 155 strikeouts set a year ago. He now has 164 which ranks as the sixth most in SEC history.

Corbin led the Commodores to a 46-10 overall record and a 22-8 record in conference play to win the SEC Championship. The overall win total is the best in school history, ahead of the 45 set in 2004, while the 22 conference wins is the most by a SEC team since South Carolina won 25 in 2000. Henry, who was named second team All-SEC, is the third Rebel since 2002 to be named SEC Freshman of the Year.

Coaches are not permitted to vote for their own players, thus a unanimous selection earns 11 of the 12 first-team votes. The complete 2007 All-SEC Team follows:

SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Matt LaPorta, Florida

SEC PITCHER OF THE YEAR - *David Price, Vanderbilt

SEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - Jordan Henry, Ole Miss


SEC COACH OF THE YEAR - *Tim Corbin, Vanderbilt

* unanimous selection


1B - Matt LaPorta, Florida

2B - Travis Jones, South Carolina

3B - Pedro Alvarez, Vanderbilt

SS - Zack Cozart, Ole Miss

C - Edward Easley, Mississippi State

OF - *Emeel Salem, Alabama

OF - *Dominic de la Osa, Vanderbilt

OF - Brian Leclerc, Florida

DH - Phil Disher, South Carolina

P - *David Price, Vanderbilt

P - Nick Schmidt, Arkansas

P - Jess Todd, Arkansas

RP - Casey Weathers, Vanderbilt


1B - Justin Smoak, South Carolina

2B - Jeffrey Rea, Mississippi State

3B - James Darnell, South Carolina

SS - Ryan Flaherty, Vanderbilt

C - J.P. Arencibia, Tennessee

OF - Jordan Henry, Ole Miss

OF - Mike Bianucci, Auburn

OF - Julio Borbon, Tennessee

DH - Alex Avila, Alabama

P - Lance Lynn, Ole Miss

P - James Adkins, Tennessee

RP - Jared Bradford, LSU

RP - Cody Satterwhite, Ole Miss


1B - Yan Gomes, Tennessee

2B - Robert Brooks, Auburn

2B - Zach Miller, Ole Miss

3B - Connor Powers, Mississippi State

SS - Cole Figueroa, Florida

C - Sean Ochinko, LSU

OF - *Jordan Henry, Ole Miss

OF - Blake Dean, LSU

OF - Matt den Dekker, Florida

OF - Jonathan Pigott, Florida

DH - Jeff Lockwood, Tennessee

P - Mike Minor, Vanderbilt

P - Nathan Baker, Ole Miss

RP - Dallas Keuchel, Arkansas

OM Spirit Top Stories