Honoring Chucky

Head coach Houston Nutt announced Thursday the selection of defensive end Marcus Tillman as the 2009 recipient of the Chucky Mullins Courage Award. ScoutTV was there for the ceremony. View the videos inside.

Senior defensive end Marcus Tillman was honored Thursday as the 20th recipient of the Chucky Mullins Courage Award.

Tillman was one of three finalists including defensive backs Kendrick Lewis and Marshay Green, who were chosen by the coaching staff prior to the banquet.

Head coach Houston Nutt presented the award, as Tillman joins 19 former Ole Miss Rebels to be selected.

Tillman and Nutt both spoke to the media afterwards.

The award honors the late Chucky Mullins, who had his Ole Miss career come to an end during the 1989 Homecoming game against Vanderbilt when he was paralyzed after making a tackle. After returning to his studies at Ole Miss, Mullins passed away on May 6, 1991.

Tillman, who wears No. 92, will have the honor of wearing a "38" patch on his jersey during his senior campaign. Mullins wore No. 38 as a player at Ole Miss.

OM Spirit Top Stories