Fourteen Beavs named Pac-10 All-Academic

OREGON STATE HAS placed 14 on the Pac-10 All-Academic Football Teams -- the second most players in the conference. Beavers have been named to the conference's academic team 42 times over the last three years.

Oregon State juniors Cameron Collins and Kevin Frahm head a list of 14 Oregon State football student-athletes who have been selected to the 2010 Pac-10 Conference All-Academic Team.

Collins, a linebacker from Santa Monica, Calif., is a three-time member of the first team. In 2008 he was the only freshman on the Pac-10 All-Academic first team. Collins is a finance major. Frahm is studying political science and the defensive tackle from Portland marked the second time he has made the first team. It is his third appearance overall.

Second team honors were achieved by offensive lineman Wilder McAndrews (science), longsnapper Marcus Perry (exercise and sport science), safety Dax Dilbeck (business) and cornerback Brandon Hardin (business). Honorable mention was earned by punter Johnny Hekker (science), placekicker Justin Kahut (construction engineering), quarterback Ryan Katz (business), center Alex Linnenkohl (business), receiver Aaron Nichols (science), tight end Colby Prince (health therapy), defensive tackle Andrew Seumalo (business) and linebacker Tony Wilson (business).

To be eligible for the Pac-10 All-Academic team a student-athlete must have a minimum 3.00 cumulative grade-point average and be either a starter or significant substitute. Two of the last three years, Beaver footballers have placed first or second in the Pac-10 in the number of total honorees to the teams.

Oregon State returns to action on the field this Saturday when it hosts No. 20 USC at Reser Stadium at 5 p.m. on ABC.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories