Paea does it again, wins Morris Trophy

STEPHEN PAEA HAS for the second consecutive year been voted the winner of the Morris Trophy. Paea becomes the fourth two-time recipient of the award, having won it in 2009, and becomes the fourth Beaver to win the Morris Trophy, joining Esera Tuaolo (1989), Inoke Breckterfield (1998) and Bill Swancutt (2004).

The Morris Trophy is given to the outstanding offensive and defensive linemen in the Pac-10. The selection procedure is unique -- the starting offensive linemen in the Pac-10 vote for the defensive winner and vice versa.

Stephen Paea, the 6-1, 311-pound senior from Los Altos, Calif., whose only Pac-10 offer was from Oregon State coming out of junior college, also received the 2010 Pac-10 Conference Pat Tillman Defensive Player of the Year honor.

He also earned All-America honors from the Associated Press, Sporting News, and Sports Illustrated.

Paea closed with a flourish this season, logging 45 tackles all told, including 10 tackles-for-loss and six quarterback sacks. Paea also caused four fumbles during the season to become the new Oregon State record holder for career forced fumbles with nine.

In repeating his '09 Morris Trophy win in 2010, Paea joins Arizona's Dana Wells (1987-88), Washington's Steve Emtman (1990-91) and USC's Sedrick Ellis (2006-07) as the only four two-time winners of the award.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories