Bill Enyart to be inducted Tuesday into CHOF

BEAVER GREAT running back Bill Enyart will be inducted Tuesday into the College Hall of Fame. He is one of 14 First Team All-America players in the National Football Foundation 2011 College Football Hall of Fame class.

From OSU Sports Information: A two-time First Team All-Pac-8 selection and a First Team All-American in 1968, "Earthquake" Enyart was an integral member of the Oregon State team know as the "Giant Killers." He becomes the second OSU player to enter the College Football Hall of Fame joining Terry Baker as well as former OSU coach Tommy Prothro.

An essential component to the 1967 "Giant Killers" team, Enyart helped the Beavers topple No. 2 Purdue, No. 1 USC and tie No. 2 UCLA as a junior. He boasted a 135-yard performance on 24 carries in the upset of the top-ranked Trojans. In addition to making two all-conference squads, Enyart was named to the All-Coast Team as a senior.

His 1968 campaign was unmatched in Oregon State lore for more than two decades with school single-season records of 293 carries for 1,304 yards and 17 touchdowns. Each record stood until 1999, and still ranks in OSU's top ten. Enyart set school single-game records against Utah on Sept. 28, 1968 with 50 carries for 299 yards, and he still holds a share of the school record with four touchdowns at Kentucky later that season.

The fullback also places in the top ten in Beavers' history with 492 career rushes for 2,155 yards and 25 scores en route to helping Oregon State to top 15 finishes as a junior and senior.

A two-time Academic All-American, Enyart earned a bachelor's degree in economics with honors from Oregon State in 1969. He was chosen with the first pick in the second round of the 1969 NFL Draft by the Buffalo Bills. He played three seasons for the Bills and Oakland Raiders, amassing 387 rushing yards and one touchdown on 105 carries. He also caught 54 passes for 421 yards and three additional scores.

Enyart currently works as a case worker for a Medicaid agency and resides in Bend, Ore. He is a member of the Oregon State University Sports Hall of Fame and the State of Oregon Sports Hall of Fame.

Joining Enyart in the 2011 Hall of Fame class is: Carlos Alvarez (Florida, 1969-71), Doug English (Texas, 1972-74), Eddie George (Ohio State, 1992-95), Marty Lyons (Alabama, 1975-78), Russell Maryland (Miami, 1986-90), Deion Sanders (Florida State, 1985-88), Jake Scott (Georgia, 1967-68), Will Shields (Nebraska, 1989-92), Sandy Stephens (Minnesota, 1959-61), Darryl Talley (West Virginia, 1979-82), Clendon Thomas (Oklahoma, 1955-57), Rob Waldrop (Arizona, 1990-93) and Gene Washington (Michigan State, 1964-66) as well as coaches Lloyd Carr and Fisher DeBerry.

"It goes without saying that this year's College Football Hall of Fame Class is an exceptional group of men who have forged some of the most legendary careers in the history of the sport," Archie Manning, chairman of The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame said.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories