Riley recognized by AFCA

MIKE RILEY WAS named the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) Region 5 FBS Coach of the Year, it was announced this week.

It's not hard to see why. Mike Riley led the Beavers to a No. 13 BCS ranking after concluding the regular season with a 9-3 overall record and a 6-3 Pac-12 mark. The Beavers were 3-9 last season.

Oregon State finished third in the Pac-12 Conference's North Division and had victories that include current top 25 teams Wisconsin and UCLA. The Beavers were selected Sunday to participate in the 20th annual Valero Alamo Bowl Dec. 29 against the No. 23 Texas Longhorns. The Alamo Bowl has the first pick in the Pac-12 after the BCS bowl selections.

The 2012 Beavers feature AFCA First Team All-America and All-Pac-12 defensive back Jordan Poyer. Poyer was joined on the Pac-12 First Team by wide receiver Markus Wheaton, defensive end Scott Crichton and special teams standout Jordan Jenkins.

Riley, who also won the award in 2008, was joined this year by Bill Snyder of Kansas State, Brian Kelly of Notre Dame, Kevin Sumlin of Texas A&M and Charlie Strong of Louisville.

The 2012 Regional Coach of the Year winners will be recognized at the AFCA Convention in Nashville, Tenn., next month.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories