Beavs claim at least a share of Pac-12 title

THIS TIME, UNLIKE Friday's game, the eighth and ninth innings went according to plan for the Beavs. Dylan Davis drove in all four runs and Andrew Moore threw his second consecutive shutout as No. 3 Oregon State clinched at least a share of the Pac-12 Conference crown with a 4-0 win over Washington State.

OSU will be going for the outright title on Sunday (assuming the Ducks beat Utah on Saturday) but regardless of how Sunday's games turn out, the Beavers now receive the conference's automatic bid into the postseason.

A record crowd of 3,417 fans at Goss Stadium saw the Beavers (44-10 overall, 23-6 Pac-12) clinch their first title since the 2006 season.

Davis finished the game 2-for-4 with all four RBI while Moore struck out seven and allowed six hits in nine innings for the win.

Davis launched the first pitch he saw from Washington State (23-31, 9-20) starter Joe Pistorese in the seventh over the left field fence for a three-run home run. It scored Andy Peterson and Michael Conforto, who had both reached base via two-out singles.

The home run, Davis' third of the year, and first since April 21 at Washington, gave the Beavers much needed insurance runs. OSU had a 1-0 lead entering the seventh thanks to Davis' run-scoring single in the first.

Moore improved to 12-1 on the year by tossing the Beavers' seventh shutout of the season. It marked his third shutout of the season and second in as many weeks after OSU downed Oregon 5-0 last weekend.

Moore finished the regular season with a team-leading 1.22 earned run average. He's on a six-game win streak and has allowed just seven earned runs in his last 60 1/3 innings, stretching over eight games. That's an ERA of 1.04.

Oregon State finished with 10 hits of Pistorese and reliever Jacob Schroeder. Peterson and Conforto also had two apiece.

Pistorese took the loss after allowing 10 hits and four runs in 6 2/3 innings. He dropped to 5-5 on the year.

The Beavers' league title Friday gave Oregon State three Pac-12 champions this season, with gymnastics and wrestling also claiming championships. It's the first time the Beavers have three league champions since the league became the Pacific-8 Conference in 1968.

The teams conclude the series and the 2013 regular season with a 12:05 p.m. PT start at Goss Stadium. The game will air live on the Pac-12 Networks

The game can be heard on the Beaver Sports Network with the following stations carrying the game: KEJO 1240-AM in Corvallis/Albany, FOX Sports Radio Portland (620-AM), KICE 940-AM (Bend), KSKR 1490-AM in Roseburg, KAKT 104.7-FM (Grants Pass, Medford), KLAD 960-AM (Klamath Falls) and KBZY 1490-AM (Salem).

BeaverBlitz Top Stories