Beavs No. 3 national seed, will meet UTSA

OREGON STATE WAS named the No. 3 national seed on baseball's Selection Monday. The Beavs will host the Corvallis Regional with play starting Friday. As the top seed of the four-team group, OSU will meet UTSA (35-23) in the opener. Other teams in the Beavs' regional include US Santa Barbara (3) and Texas A&M (2). OSU will be making their eighth NCAA postseason appearance in the last nine years.

Game time for the Beavs' opener is 5 p.m. on Friday. As with all games in the Corvallis Regional, it can be seen online at

UTSA earned the Western Athletic Conference's automatic bid with Sunday's 11-4 victory over Dallas Baptist. Oregon State beat UTSA in the only meeting between the two squads but it was a tough win, 10-7, in 10 innings back on Feb. 28, 2011.

Texas A&M (32-27) went 13-16 to finish sixth in the Southeastern Conference's West Division. UC Santa Barbara (34-23) won their final six series of the season and finished second in the Big West with a 17-10 conference mark.

Every game in the NCAA regionals will be available on the ESPN family of networks -- which includes many of the early games taking place on Some games will be televised on ESPN2 and ESPNU.

The Beavers are hosting an NCAA Regional for the fourth time in school history, and have gone a combined 9-0 in 2005, 2006 and 2011.

With one of the eight national seeds, the Beavs are guaranteed to host a super regional if they advance this weekend in the regional.

The winner of the Corvallis Regional will move on to face the winner of the Manhattan Regional, which includes host Kansas State (41-17) as well as Arkansas (37-20), Bryant (44-16-1) and Wichita State (39-26).

Regional play in the NCAA baseball postseason is double elimination. The 16 winners move on to the Super Regional, which is best 2-of-3. The 8 winners move on to the College World Series in Omaha, which is double elimination until the championship series, which is best 2-of-3.

The eight national seeds:
1. North Carolina
2. Vanderbilt
3. Oregon State
4. LSU
5. Cal State Fullerton
6. Virginia
7. Florida State
8. Oregon

"I know we've talked Vanderbilt, LSU and North Carolina as being really complete (teams), watch out for Oregon State. This is a club that has a really legitimate chance to win the whole thing," said ESPN analyst Kyle Peterson.

But another ESPN analyst, Ben McDonald, thought it would be a "huge surprise" if the champion didn't come from the SEC/ACC and that LSU, Vanderbilt and North Carolina had separated themselves as the top three teams.

The Pac-12 received four bids - Oregon State, Oregon, UCLA and ASU.

The 64-team bracket can be found HERE.

  • All-session tickets will be made available to the general public beginning at 7 a.m. on Wednesday (online only until 9 a.m.). Infield reserved tickets are $100 while outfield general admission seats are $75 and student outfield seats cost $56. All-session tickets guarantee the holder to all six games of the regional, and a seventh if necessary game.

  • Single-game tickets will be made available on each day - pending availability - and cost $20 for infield reserved seats, $15 for outfield general admission and $12 for student outfield seats. The ticket office at Goss Stadium will open at 10 a.m. on the first day of the regional and two hours prior to the first game's first pitch each subsequent day.

  • BeaverBlitz Top Stories