Cooks & Crichton named to award watchlists

TWO OREGON STATE JUNIORS -- wide receiver Brandin Cooks and defensive end Scott Crichton -- have been named to the preseason watch lists for the Maxwell Award and the Bednarik Award, respectively.

Brandin Cooks was one of the most explosive players in the nation last year, with an average 17.17 ypc, which placed him ninth nationally out of the top 100 receivers on the NCAA's official stats page, and No. 22 overall in the FBS.

A preseason All-America selection by Phil Steele and Athlon, the Stockton, Calif. native is set to move into the feature role at receiver this season after recording 67 receptions for 1,151 yards and five touchdowns as a sophomore in 2012.

Scott Crichton, a native of Tacoma, Wash., has established himself as one of the best defensive ends in the Pac-12 Conference and was one of only two underclassmen last year to be named first team all-conference on defense.

A preseason second team All-America choice by Athlon, Crichton is tied for seventh in career sacks at Oregon State with 15, tied for sixth for career tackles-for-loss with 32 and is tied for second with seven forced fumbles in his career.

The Maxwell Award has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1995.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced Oct. 29, while the three finalists for each award will be unveiled Nov. 25. The winners of the 2013 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced on Dec. 12.

The popular Orange Pride Pack football ticket package is available now online at Ticket locations will be assigned at the time of purchase. The Beavers open the season Saturday, Aug. 31 when they host Eastern Washington at Reser Stadium.

BeaverBlitz Top Stories