NEW: Romaine & Kostol named to watchlists

TWO MORE OREGON STATE JUNIORS -- K Trevor Romaine and P Keith Kostol -- have been named to watch lists for the Lou Groza Award and Ray Guy Award, respectively.

Trevor Romaine was an all-conference honorable mention selection in 2012 and will have connected on 12 consecutive field goals entering the season.

Romaine was the most accurate kicker in the Pac-12 hitting 16-of-18 field goals.

Keith Kostol won the open punting job in 2012 and earned himself a scholarship in the fall. In 2012, Kostol booted a season-best 67-yard punt at Stanford.

On the season, he placed the ball inside the opponents' 20-yard line 24 times.

The Lou Groza Award is named for National Football League Hall of Fame kicker Lou "The Toe" Groza, who played 21 seasons with the Cleveland Browns.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Ga. Native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy.

The winners of both awards will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 12, 2013.

Romaine and Kostol join defensive end Scott Crichton, wide receiver Brandin Cooks and center Isaac Seumalo on preseason awards watch lists for the Beavers.

Crichton is a candidate for the Bednarik Award and the Lott Trophy. Cooks is on the Maxwell Award watch list, while Seumalo is on the Rimington Award watch list.

Season tickets remain available online at, by calling 1-800-GO-BEAVS and in person at the OSU Ticket Office in room 107 of Gill coliseum. The Beavers open the season Saturday, Aug. 31 when they host Eastern Washington at Reser Stadium (TV: Pac-12 Networks, 3 PM).

BeaverBlitz Top Stories