Beav Scott Crichton is a Minnesota Viking

SCOTT CRICHTON HAD to wait until the third round, but he didn't have to wait long. Minnesota selected the OSU junior defensive end with the eighth pick in the third round (No. 72 overall) and Crichton became a Viking.

Scott Crichton served notice his freshman season and firmly placed himself on the NFL radar his sophomore year. He logged 165 career tackles for the Beavers, including 51 tackles-for-loss and 22.5 quarterback sacks.

He ranks third all-time at OSU for tackles-for-loss and fourth for quarterback sacks. He was named second team All-Pac-12 as a junior this past season, first team in 2012 and honorable mention in 2011. Crichton started 37 of 38 career games after redshirting in 2010.

Crichton, a native of Tacoma, Wash., is the first Beaver defensive end to be selected in the draft since Gabe Miller was a fifth round selection of Kansas City in 2011.

He was a two-time semifinalist for the Hendricks Awards and a 2011 Freshman All-American. Crichton announced earlier this year that he was forgoing his senior year to make himself eligible for the draft.

He didn't give a reason at the time but later at the NFL Combine told reporters he wanted to assist his family financially. His father was disabled but continues to work and his mom works two jobs, Crichton said.

He joins wide receiver Brandin Cooks from this past season as early Beav draftees, as well as running backs Jacquizz Rodgers in 2010, Steven Jackson in 2004, and cornerback Brandon Browner in 2005. Cooks was drafted in the first round Thursday by the New Orleans Saints as the 20th player overall selected.

Crichton and Cooks will get a chance to get reacquainted when the Vikings host the Saints in the third week of the 2014 NFL season.

It is projected by media NFL analysts that Beav CB Rashaad Reynolds will be snapped up in the fourth round on Saturday.

OSU DE NFL Draft Selections (since 2001)

Scott Crichton, Vikings, 3rd, 2014

Gabe Miller, Chiefs, 5th, 2011

Victor Butler, Cowboys, 4th, 2009

Slade Norris, Raiders, 4th, 2009

Bill Swancutt, Lions, 6th, 2005

DeLawrence Grant, Raiders, 3rd, 2001

BeaverBlitz Top Stories