OREGON STATE CONTINUED their season of firsts on Monday morning. The Beavs were named the No. 1 national seed for college baseball's postseason for the first time in their history. The Beavs will host the Corvallis Regional, with North Dakota State, UNLV and Cal-Irvine all coming to town for the double-elimination format from May 30-June 2.

Oregon State (42-12) will play North Dakota State on Friday -- game time is scheduled for 8 p.m. to accommodate the televised broadcast on ESPNU.

NDSU (25-24, 10-12 Summit League) is in the postseason for the first time since 1956. UNLV, the No. 2 seed at the Corvallis regional, finished the regular season at 35-23 overall and 20-10 in the Mountain West. No. 3 seeded UC Irvine went 35-22 overall and 15-9 in the Big West.

UC Irvine and UNLV will play Friday at 2 p.m. on ESPN3.

Oregon State has gone a combined 12-0 hosting in 2005, 2006, 2011 and 2013 (since the NCAA expanded into the current Super Regional format). The Beavers are 23-4 all-time at Goss Stadium in the postseason.

"Dangerous in Omaha last year... I think the one thing to watch with Oregon State is how good their starting rotation is, I think it is the best in the entire country," said ESPN college baseball analyst Kyle Peterson.

It's a favorable regional bracket. But historically, only 6-of-10 of the national seeds have made the College World Series -- a heavily favored team gets bounced 40 percent of the time.

If OSU wins the regional, in the super regional they will face the winner of the Stillwater regional. The four teams and bracket seedings making up that regional are Oklahoma State (1); Nebraska (2); Cal-State Fullerton (3) and Binghamton (4).

After regional play the NCAA committee chooses the Super Regional sites but any national seed who advances continues to host. So Oregon State would continue to play at home, if they advance this weekend, all the way to Omaha and the College World Series.

The eight national seeds:
1. Oregon State
2. Florida
3. Virginia
4. Indiana
5. Florida State
6. Louisiana-Lafayette
7. TCU
8. LSU

All-session tickets will be made available to the general public beginning at 7 a.m. on Wednesday (online only until 9 a.m.). Infield reserved tickets are $100 while outfield general admission seats are $75 and student outfield seats cost $56. All-session tickets guarantee the holder to all six games of the regional, and a seventh if necessary game.

Single-game tickets will be made available on each day – pending availability - and cost $20 for infield reserved seats, $15 for outfield general admission and $12 for student outfield seats. The ticket office at Goss Stadium will open at 10 a.m. on the first day of the regional and two hours prior to the first game's first pitch each subsequent day.

Current season-ticket holders have until 5 p.m. Tuesday to request tickets prior to them going on sale to the general public. Our Beaver Nation members without season tickets may also request tickets until that time.

Fans can purchase tickets by calling 1-800-GOBEAVS, going online at BeaverTickets.com or in person at Gill Coliseum, which will be open from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

  • All regional games are available on ESPN3.

  • It is the first time since 2004 that only two teams west of the Rockies will host regional play -- Oregon State and Cal Poly.

  • Big West Commissioner Dennis Farrell, the selection committee chairman, said the last four teams selected, in no particular order, were Clemson, North Carolina, Texas A&M and UC Irvine. The first four left out, he said, were Mercer, Central Florida, USC and West Virginia.


  • BeaverBlitz Top Stories