Seumalo named to Outland watch list

ISAAC SEUMALO IS making this a habit. For the second straight year, the Oregon State center has been named to the Outland Trophy Watch List, released Thursday by the Football Writers Association of America. Seumalo is among 64 players nominated for the nation’s top defensive or offensive lineman.

Isaac Seumalo, a Corvallis native and son of OSU defensive line coach Joe Seumalo, has started all 25 games in which he’s played in his two-year career. He missed the spring football session due to a foot injury but is expected to be ready at some point in fall camp.

Seumalo was earlier named to the Rimington Trophy watch list, given to the nation's top center.

The junior earned Pac-12 All-Conference Second Team honors in 2013 and will serve as one of four team captains for the 2014 season after being chosen by a vote of his teammates.

The Outland Trophy winner is chosen from three finalists who are part of the FWAA All-America Team. The FWAA All-America Committee, after voting input from the entire membership, selects the 26-man first team and eventually the Outland finalists. Committee members, then by individual ballot, select the winner. Only interior linemen on offense or defense are eligible for the award; ends are not eligible.

The list will be trimmed to six or seven semifinalists on Nov. 20. Four days later, three Outland Trophy finalists will be named by the FWAA. The winner of the 69th Outland Trophy, named after the late John Outland, an All-America lineman at Penn at the turn of the 20th century, will be announced on ESPN on Dec. 11.

The Outland Trophy presentation banquet, sponsored by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee, will be held on Jan. 15, 2015, in Omaha, Neb. This year, Notre Dame’s Ross Browner, the 1976 Outland Trophy winner, will be honored and presented an Outland Trophy, which was not given in the era in which he won the award.

Beavers on Preseason Watch Lists
Michael Doctor, Sr., LB – Lott IMPACT Trophy (top defender)
Connor Hamlett, Sr., TE – John Mackey Award (top tight end)
Sean Mannion, Sr., QB – Maxwell Award (top player) Lott Trophy (top defender)
Steven Nelson, Sr., CB – Bronko Nagurski Trophy (top defender)
Isaac Seumalo, Jr., C – Rimington Trophy (top center), Outland Trophy (top interior lineman)

BeaverBlitz Top Stories